Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This wasn't flavorful at all. I imagine it would be better with beef boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The soup is great but after making it a few times I've taken out the tomatoes and vinegar as it seems to hold its taste better stored in the refrigerator. I've also added some potatoes cut into 1 inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Mough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! I doubled the recipe leaving out the spinach and vinegar and added a pound of Jimmy Dean sausage. I saw the meat in the picture and thought it might be sausage...so...it is the BEST lentil soup I have EVER tasted!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made this over a handful of times. We double the seasoning and substitute lemon juice or the vinegar. Nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I increased the spices, added sausage, and added green onions. It was fantastic and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
T thought this recipe was awesome. I had my own chicken broth made and used that instead of water. I had 10 cups of broth and wanted to use it up, so I added two extra carrots, 1 cup of spinach, doubled the spices and used balsamic vinegar. I used the same amount of lentils. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I doubled the garlic and spices since I like flavor and those who doubled didn't have any complaints. I added a couple of extra carrots and replaced 6 cups of water with chicken broth. BTW, 2 cups of lentils happens to be a 16 oz bag. I changed the plain vinegar to balsamic because I love it and couldn't resist adding the 3 tablespoons of port wine because I love it too! My salt and pepper to taste ended up being a tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't add spinach because I was planning to have leftovers and didn't think it would hold up well. I used a hand held wand to puree about half of the soup to make it thicker. I think this soup is much better the next day, so I highly recommend making it the day before. It just barely fit in a 4 qt pot, so you might want to set your sights on something bigger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used butter instead of olive oil, chicken broth instead of water, and kale instead of spinach. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried (triple the amount of herbs called for when using fresh instead of dried). It was delicious! If broth is not used, I would add at least a teaspoon of salt with the water. Otherwise it will be incredibly bland. I still needed additional salt to taste at the end using chicken broth. With my changes, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I absolutely love this soup!! I used organic vegetable broth instead of water and I chopped up 2 Roma tomatoes instead of adding canned tomatoes. I did add the cumin as I love cumin in soups. Totally tasty and good. Also since I didn't have spinach I used kale and a few left over leaves of escarole. It was very tasty especially when I topped it off with the balsamic vinegar and fresh parmesan cheese. Hearty and filling, definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States