Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This soup has become a standard recipe in use at our house. Our neighbors also love it. In the winter I make it as often as I make chili. It pairs well with any kind of bread, but cornbread is our favorite. It's easy to make over an open campfire, so we often make it when we go camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
We thought this was really good doubled the spices added a little lemon juice on top when serving, kids not a huge fan but they are picky right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This lentil soup was so tasty! I did make some substitutions, mostly to use what I had on hand. I used fresh broccoli instead off spinach, 1 can of spicy red pepper stewed tomatoes, 4 cups of vegetable broth for half the water and lemon instead of vinegar. I added no extra salt except a little in my bowl when I ate it. It was perfect! Best lentil soup I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The flavor of this soup is good but I would not call it a soup. It's more like a thick stew. The lentils soaked up a lot of the water so next time I'll just halve the lentils. I added Chicken Better than Bouillon to it and also more vinegar and spinach. Next time, I'll add more veggies in general to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Never had lentil soup before. This was great and I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great! Next time instead of plain lentils, I will use a 9 bean mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was way better than I expected. I did double the veggies and used fresh herbs. Used a big juicy Meyer lemon instead of vinegar. Threw everything in the crock pot, used no oil. Very filling and nourishing. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabell Ringing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Plant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Delicious and hearty! I omitted the vinegar, doubled the celery and carrots, added a sweet potato, plus more of the spices. Oh, and jarred marinara instead of canned tomatoes - just because that's what I had at home. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I liked this soup. I followed the original recipe except I used frozen spinach (didn't have any fresh) and I put the tomatoes in the food processor before adding because my Hubby's not crazy about tomatoes chunks in soup. It was very good, but processing the tomatoes made it a more tomatoe base. I won't do that next time. I will definitely make this again! BTW,I used Trader Joe's canned plum tomatoes and did not add salt to the pot, making the sodium less than 200mg for the entire pot. We salted individual bowls to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States