Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Simple, hearty soup, great for the winter. I use chicken broth instead of water, and seasoned stewed tomatoes to add a bit more flavor and I love this staple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRobin58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jnnpppnk
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Good. Halve the oil. Subs: Celery seed vs celery. Chicken broth vs water. Plum tomatoes vs crushed. Red wine vinegar vs white vinegar. Add: 1/4 tsp thyme and - either cooked sausage, sliced, or leftover chicken. Serve with a sprinkling of Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Look very delicious. If you want to do like this, you can follow a book like me. The book has given me ton of great ideas for meals. The meal plan is really good. I am starting slow, trying one thing a week. Here The Recipe Book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane R. Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I don't cook often...so I had to substitute or omit some items that I didn't have. I used frozen spinach, canned lentils (bad me), and canned diced (instead of crushed) tomatoes, small can of organic vegetable broth. Also, I love coconut oil, its great for high heat sauteing of onions and it leaves a nice subtle flavor, so that was my oil substitute. I accidentally spilled the salt in it - so I did not add the vinegar in case it was already too salty. It was delicious! I ate a bowl with my husband's home made bread with melted mozzarella cheese...mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Husband and I thought it was okay; it was edible anyway. Daughter hated it. We all thought it was just bland and had no taste. We even tried adding other seasoning, but got nothing. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Monaghan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Really excellent as written. I have made this many times. I do now however add spicy Italian sausage for my husband and also substitute kale for spinach once in awhile. I also rinse and soak the lentils so they cook quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zojo
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Meat is getting expensive so I was looking for good vegetarian meals to make. I loved it and so did my kids! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
A nice light and tasty soup! Didn't take too long either. I added marjoram and bits of lean chicken and used lemon juice instead of vinegar... and used tomato paste instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I added most of a small bag of spinach, summer sausage, about 2 tablespoons of butter, and balsamic vinegar like was mentioned in other comments. It was DELICIOUS! My mother, mother-in-law, and husband, who doesn't normally like soup, was also impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucie Michaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States