Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sheka Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Great recipe!I doubled on the veggies and seasoning.Also I used half of and onion and a leek.I use 4 cups of vegetable broth and 4 cups of water added jalapeno and cayenne pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheka Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This makes a wonderful Lenten soup. However, I had to add another cup of wate, and it should be simmered with the lid on. I also didn't aadd the vin. But came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made changes based on other reviews. Doubled the spices, used 2 cans of diced not crushed tomatoes, used 5 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water. Sautéed veggies and spices for 3-5 minutes then threw it all into the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Placed cooked spinach, chicken sausage and balsamic on table to add individually...served with oven baked cornbread and my family devoured it. We all agreed it was the best lentil soup we had ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome!! I added 1lb Italian sausage and a little orzo because I was short on lentils. I also used 4 cups veg broth and 4 cups water. I had to add a little more later because it got too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Outstanding! I made a few changes that another review (JPMARYLAND) suggested and this made all the difference. Low sodioum chicken broth instead of water for the 8 cups, plus I added another 2 cups of water. 4 carrots, 4 stalks of celery chopped up, 4 cloves garlic, 2 bay leaf, 2 tsp. basil, 4 cups thin sliced baby spinach. Double the oregano if you like oregano, I stayed with the 1 tsp. I used Balsamic vinegar and added 3 tabelspoons, this gave it a really nice flavor. I also added two medium size russet potatoes cut up in cubes. Add the cut up potato the last 30 mins. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. This was a hearty meal. You can add a ham bone or cut up hamsteak too if you like meat in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
With changes this is delicious hearty soup. Even my picky husband loves it! Use beef or chicken broth for water. Add a big can of crushed tomatoes and a can of stewed. Double spices and garlic. Add a whole bag frozen spinach or use fresh. Kale would be good also. Toss in mushrooms if you have them. Serve with warm rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Wow. I expected to love this based on all the great reviews. I've never had lentil soup before, but I love beans/peas/legumes and vegetables so I expected to love this recipe as well. I followed it exactly, except I subbed balsamic for white vinegar. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Follow notes. Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I tried this one today and it turned out great! I made 6 servings, left out the spinach, used homemade tomato sauce, added 4 teaspoons of chicken soup base, substituted vinegar from a jar of pickled jalapenos. I saw other recipes that suggested using a wand blender to thicken the soup if you found it was runny, mine was not runny, but for those who like a thicker soup this might be a way to achieve that. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Forsaken4965
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This reminds me more of a minestrone than traditional lentil soup but it is quite tasty. I didn't use the amount of oil the recipe called for - I just used a couple of sprays from my oil mister. I also eliminated the vinegar but hubby and I really like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States