Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
D licious only differences I added one yellow chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Use Basalmic vinegar instead of white vinegar. Use veggie broth instead of water. Add a few shakes of hot sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I wanted to try some new soups, but my kids keep requesting the lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gilad Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this according to the recipe exactly. I use broth vs water. My family thought it was good. No one had seconds or anything but both kids cleaned their bowls and agreed it was tasty. It's a very nourishing dish so perhaps these folks who say it's inedible are used to more commercial flavors. We joke that we are kale and quinoa people even tho we eat meat and dairy. So there is no accounting for preferences. Give it a try as written and you can always Dr it up later. It's a very inexpensive dish to make so what have you got to lose. I used my dutch oven with a lid while cooking and needed no water added. 4 of us ate and we had 4 or 5 cups left over. I froze it for a Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This will definitely be my go to for lentil soup. So good and makes a ton. I froze half and had it for dinner two weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Cooking right now tastes pretty good, made a few changes to suit our tastes 1st - sautéed 6 oz. of cubed pancetta, added veggies 2- changed water ratio----4c. Beef broth, 3 c. Chicken broth, 1c. Water, added garlic & onion powder but that was all! I think we're gonna like it ,as I said tastes good so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyren
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Pretty easy recipe. I have tried it a couple times and if you follow the directions exactly it's a little bland. Like many reviewers I find it tastiest to make some modifications. I use veggie stock instead of water, double the oregano, basil and garlic. I also pulled about 1/4th of the soup out near the end of the cooking process, pureed it, and put it back in for thicker soup texture. Also, in typical hipster fashion I used kale leaves torn into small pieces instead of spinach. Add it at the very end so it just blanches slightly and it will turn a really nice bright green color. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This soup has become a standard recipe in use at our house. Our neighbors also love it. In the winter I make it as often as I make chili. It pairs well with any kind of bread, but cornbread is our favorite. It's easy to make over an open campfire, so we often make it when we go camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
We thought this was really good doubled the spices added a little lemon juice on top when serving, kids not a huge fan but they are picky right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This lentil soup was so tasty! I did make some substitutions, mostly to use what I had on hand. I used fresh broccoli instead off spinach, 1 can of spicy red pepper stewed tomatoes, 4 cups of vegetable broth for half the water and lemon instead of vinegar. I added no extra salt except a little in my bowl when I ate it. It was perfect! Best lentil soup I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States