Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe, but having said that I have made lentil soup for years and am always up for new additions, suggestions. I always soak my lentils the night before to speed the cooking process. This time I used 1 pkg of orange lentils I had on had. These cook much faster than green lentils. I always start with a base of 3 stalks finely chopped celery, 1 finely chopped onion, 3 cloves minced garlic, 3 bay leaves, (during last hour I add: 5 small diced carrots and 1 large diced potato.) I heat some olive oil in a 6 quart dutch oven, sautee onion and celery on high heat, then add garlic and lower heat. This time I added 1-1 1/2 tspn. cumin, 1/2 tspn. coriander, salt & pepper and the juice of 1 lemon versus the vinegar. Added lentils to pot, 6 cups chicken stock with 2 cups water. 1 12oz. can tomato puree. I let this simmer for 4-5 hours until the lentils break apart. I placed in a separate bowl 1/4 of the lentils and pureed until smooth, then poured back in pot. This makes for a nice combination of smooth and whole lentils which I love. I have to say the cumin, coriander and lemon juice made this lentil soup outstanding!!!! Very nice earthiness especially with the orange lentils which are more 'nutty' in flavor but in a subtle way. Keep adding these spices until you like the flavor...I always taste as I go when cooking. I was sooo impressed with these spices, the soup was very warming and the lemon juice gave it a great depth of flavor. This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Just made this for dinner and really enjoyed it. I added 1tsp of Lemmon juice since I am allergic to vinegar and it worked well as a substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and will continue to make it. It is the best soup I ever tasted. My husband loved it also. It is vegetarian and gluten free and healthy. I did not have a bay leaf, so I omitted it. I used balsamic vinegar. I also subbed frozen spinach for fresh. When I first made this recipe, I thought what is vinegar doing in soup, but it made all the flavors come together. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonya
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I used red wine and more veggies and Just wow! It was perfect in flavor for this gluten free vegan. Dash of pepper and faux cheese on top- ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Found this very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I love this recipe...I did change a few things for my tastes. I grated my carrots, used homemade chicken broth for half of the liquid, added chili powder and crushed red pepper to make it spicy. Instead of tomatoes I added one can of tomato sauce and one can of tomato paste. I eat it all week long for lunch with cottage cheese...keeps me energized throughout the afternoon to hit the gym!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really like this recipe, although like others who have tried and commented, I find this to be more of a baseline recipe that allows one to add their own flair and style to the dish to really make it extra flavorful. It is very versatile and I have tried multiple variations now such as Italian and spicy/curry. Only things I think the base recipe needs to change are Chicken (or veggie, etc.) broth instead of water, and the herbs should be added at the end of cooking (with exception of the bay leaves) so they don't lose their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was very good. The only changes I made was to use diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I had only one cup of lentils so I threw in some elbows macaroni. Very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I've made this lentil soup before and this time, it didn't come out as good as I hoped! The soup was very bland and my boyfriend had to add a lot of salt when I had already done so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rekha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe. I omitted salt and used 5 tsp. chicken bullion to give it more flavor. Also added extra pepper and used Apple cider vinegar. Instead of spinach I used "super greens" from Safeway which included baby spinach, kale, and chard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States