Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I had never tried lentils until I made this dish. And WOW they are awesome. I love this recipe , it is super easy to make and you'll enjoy eating it as well. Definitely consider making this dish. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is pretty tasty. I made it to direction and next time would like to try it with mild or Italian sausage added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I thought this was a great, simple recipe. When reading reviews some said they made it vegetarian style or did something to reduce sodium. There's no meat in this recipe and its says salt to taste! WTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beramanetti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was so good, I did add 2 beef boullion cubes and I used celery seed instead of celery ( didn't have any) Was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I also doubled the spices, used the whole can of crushed tomatoes and added spicy sausage slices and chicken broth in place of plain water. My whole family ate it all up. They all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The star rating of 3 is based on the recipe as-is. I followed it quite closely, just using a larger can of crushed tomatoes than it calls for and a touch less water. As-is, I felt it was bland. I added curry and cumin to taste, and a teaspoon of beef bouillon. Also I used an immersion blender for just a few seconds to create a thicker texture. I thought this relatively small change made the dish much more flavorful and a little spicy... like a good, hearty vegetarian chili. I have been taking it to work and adding a little water to each serving before heating it up as the lentils really soak up the liquid. A coworker had a helping and commented more than once it was delicious so I think I will keep the recipe with these modifications, which I felt bumped the rating up to an "I Loved It".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Terrific with changes that others suggested. Double the spices, use 4 cups broth, 4 cups water. I added a little sherry early on, balsamic vinegar and spinach towards the end. I used a large can of blended tomatoes instead of the 15 oz can. Also, I cut up some smoked turkey sausage early on, which added nice flavor. Will definitely make again! Delicious! And healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
my family absolutely love this recipe i chicken broth instead of mostly and added a little water at the end just for more broth in the soup and added some sausage and its a major hit in my house my wife and kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLomb
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I modified though; scaled down the 1/4 cup oil to 2-3 Tbl., used 2 cups of vegetable broth and 6 cups water, and substituted the spinach for a bunch of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe was very delicious. The soup required a bit more seasoning than the recipe calls for, but otherwise it was good. I added a bit of garlic powder, and onion powder as well as a bit more salt and pepper both. The recipe makes more servings than it says too, but we didn't mind the leftovers at all. Add a bit of extra water and re-heat, it's easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States