Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very yummy. I added a can of El Pato and red pepper flakes for spice. Good veggie soup but meat such as ham would have made it even better. Crispy prosciutto on top would have sent this out of this world. In the recipes original form, it is still a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Added 1/2-1 cup red merlot, didn't use vinegar, and was absolutely wonderful. Will add two more cups of veggie stock for next round, it's more like a stew and leftovers will be dry. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
How anyone can say this soup doesn't have flavor is beyond me. Mine will be done in 30 minutes and already tastes awesome! I added a hambone I had left over from Thanksgiving. Thats the only change I made. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Too thick for my taste because I like more brothy soups. I wasn't raised eating lentils but gave this recipe a try for the health benefits they offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Yum! Make sure you use a really high quality vegetable stock or the flavor just won't be the same. I use an organic stock from Trader Joe's and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Excellent soup! Quite flavorful with just the right amount of tomato. The only adjustment I made was to use vegetable broth instead of water. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very good and healthy too! Changes made were very small: Tomato Sauce rather than crushed tomatoes 1 cup small golden lentils rather than 2 cups lemon juice rather than vinegar extra spinach plus cayenne pepper to taste for a kick. It was wonderful and addictive w/ warm french bread yummy thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.delicious

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good. Went with only a couple changes. A veg broth cube added as well as a tsp of cumin and half the vinegar which was balsamic. Oh and double the garlic. Two tsp of salt seemed like a lot but tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was absolutely delicious, and not at all hard to make. I didn't use any water, but instead used vegetable broth and a large can of diced tomatoes. I slivered the spinach because my husband says he doesn't like cooked spinach, and that worked well to combat the sometimes slimy character of spinach in soup. I used brown lentils because those were the first ones I found when I looked in the pantry, and I liked their firm character. I used red wine vinegar in the finish and this added a lovely tang without tasting acidy. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josietootsy
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Very easy to make. I read a few things about lentils after trying to make this soup. I read that using salt or acidic ingredients with the lentils before they are cooked can make them tough or mealy. So what I did was used 8 cups of no salt beef broth and I omitted the tomatoes and I used sun dried tomatoes diced up and put them in at the same time as the garlic. I added two small sweet potatoes diced with the onions and carrots. I made up some mini meatballs of beef and spicy Italian sausage(casing removed)..The best spices I found to pair up for making the meatballs was cumin seed, dried thyme, oregano and basil...dried chilies are a great add in too and chili powder is good added to the soup itself before the broth goes in also just a tsp is enough to change it up. This is a great base recipe so there is lots of ways you can flavour it to your liking adding curry or Thai flavours like lemon grass would be fun too instead of the Italian tomatoey flavour. This is my favourite soup recipe on this site, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States