Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This soup came out *really* well, though it did take a bit longer than the directions say (took a while for the lentils to soften).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Srztanjur
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This recipe gave me a lot to work with. I was not completely satisfied with the original product, but without it, I wouldn't have been able to achieve what I did on my second attempt, which was exactly what I was looking for. These are my notes: First, make your own crushed tomatoes. Buy five ripe on the vine tomatoes. Cut a large plus onto their bottoms. Blanche them in boiling water for thirty seconds. Shock them in ice water. Peel off their skin. Cut them in half. Remove their seeds into a small bowl by pushing them out with your finger. Remove green and white parts of tomato and discard. Strain the tomato juice out of the seeds back into the peeled and seeded tomatoes. Crush with hands. Whisk with fork. Cook with smiling cover for one hour and forty minutes, stirring every twenty minutes. Add an extra cup of water. Use five cloves of garlic instead of two cloves of garlic. Use one half teaspoon of oregano instead of one teaspoon. Use one-and-a-half teaspoons of basil instead of one teaspoon. Use half of a tablespoon of vinegar instead of two tablespoons of vinegar. Salt over top of pot in a zig-zag, twice with sea salt (preferably iodized) Pepper with a grinder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I did not add the vinegar, but I did add some cilantro and mushrooms. It came out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This wasn't flavorful at all. I imagine it would be better with beef boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The soup is great but after making it a few times I've taken out the tomatoes and vinegar as it seems to hold its taste better stored in the refrigerator. I've also added some potatoes cut into 1 inch cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Mough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! I doubled the recipe leaving out the spinach and vinegar and added a pound of Jimmy Dean sausage. I saw the meat in the picture and thought it might be sausage...so...it is the BEST lentil soup I have EVER tasted!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made this over a handful of times. We double the seasoning and substitute lemon juice or the vinegar. Nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I increased the spices, added sausage, and added green onions. It was fantastic and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States