Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is my go-to soup! I use ketchup whenever I make it so I don't have to buy tomato paste. I use vegetable broth because I'm vegetarian. And I skip the olive oil drizzle and chili powder at the end; I don't find that it needs it. Very minimal changes that I doubt change the flavor very much at all. I find that it takes less than 45 minutes to make, and it's a piece of cake to make since 30 of those minutes it's just simmering! I use an immersion blender at the end to get it to a consistency I like. My boyfriend and I gobble this up every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So delicious! Great flavor and very filling. Our only complaint was that I didn't double the recipe. Next time I will leave more chunks for texture as well per my husband's request. Even the baby enjoyed her serving (without the lemon and cilantro). It's a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Most of the family loved it! Made it exactly as written except doubled the amounts. . The fresh lemon is a must and gives it a very refreshing flavor. Very satisfying and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing! I forgot the chili pepper at the end but I didn't miss it at all. This tastes as good as anything from the Indian restaurant. Love!!! It doesn't make a lot so next time I will double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added extra spices (Cayenne, Chili Flakes, Paprika) since that is what I and my family prefer. Also, don't skip the lemon. It makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I did not have very high hopes for a lentil soup recipe, but this was overwhelmingly delicious. I followed the instructions exactly but for using brown (green?) lentils instead of red. The lemon juice and cilantro are key - do not skip those! Even my carnivore husband enjoyed it and he generally only approves of meats. Excellent recipe and very healthy as well. We will be making this again and again. Perfect for a crisp fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Easy and delicious!!! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very good flavor. I omitted the drizzle of olive oil at the end based upon personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States