Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Delicious recipe that even my 10 month old son enjoyed. Another reviewer recommended adding soy sauce and more chili powder. Specifically, I added 1/2tbsp china lily soy sauce and doubled the chili. I'd say 3 servings is more realistic for our tummies to feel satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I make this at least twice a month...it's extremely easy to make and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is a great basic recipe. I wanted to build on it a bit and give it more Indian flare. In added a teaspoon of cumin seeds and 1/4 teaspoon of black mustard seeds and let it fry (and the seeds pop) with the onions. I also added some ginger and fried it along with the onions and garlic. Add a few curry leaves and a pinch of asafoetida if you have some! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I completely forgot the lemon, but it's a HUGE hit here! I always double, since were a family of 6, so I just used the whole bag of lentils, 1 massive onion, and 4 carrots. My 5 year old was halfway through his second bowl before he even realized I had given him a roll at the beginning of dinner! Thank you for this new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Myers
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This was okay. My husband felt like it was too plain. I didn't add anything too it because so many people felt it was good the way it was. Not flavorful enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I've never tried lentils before this recipe. I loved it and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Very, very good and fairly simple! I would use a little less cumin, and add more veggies. But fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I always add extra carrots. Sometimes adding carrots and cauliflower...good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randal Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I have made this recipe several times, always doubling it, and it's excellent every time - a big hit with guests. I've tinkered with the spices a bit (usually adding a pinch of celery salt and a pinch of cayenne, and some granulated garlic) too, but if you want to take this recipe to a whole new level, forget about the olive oil drizzle. There's an amazing oil from Morocco that's becoming more available called ARGON OIL! It has culinary and other qualities that border on amazing! Gourmet stores might have it, or you can order it online. It turns this soup recipe into something you'll never forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is the best soup I've ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States