Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The taste/texture reminds me of split pea soup. This is really delicious. I cooked this for some vegetarians and everyone enjoyed. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I tried this about five years ago, and loved it so much I probably make it several times a year. I found the blender step unnecessary. Too messy. Delicious flavor, so good for any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I make this in batches to feed 50 people. I don't measure anything and I make it much less thick. Also I substitute barley for the rice. Everyone loves it. Every time. Even the meatiest of the meat eaters ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So so good and surprisingly full of flavor for being so healthy. I am a veggie so I substituted no sodium added vegetable broth. Also I loved the consistency after lentils were cooked and skipped the blender step to keep it thick. My new favorite dinner thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Even my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Recipe is great as is. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I’m trying to eat more vegetarian meals and learned that lentils are a good source of protein. Came across this recipe thinking it would be good for my work lunches but not so much as a family dinner. So wrong! When making it one afternoon the family smelled the aroma and swarmed the kitchen. After a taste test by all they decided they wanted it for dinner instead of what I already planned. Served it with naan and everyone loved it. To make the meal go further I added extra carrots and a few small Yukon gold potatoes. Also added curry powder and hot Indian chili power in place of the regular chili power. Next time I will double the recipe to fill up a family of 3 and to have enough leftover for my work lunches. Definitely a keeper to add to the weeknight meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a great base recipe for a delicious soup. I halved the chili powder so it wouldn't taste like chili, used a cup of salsa fresca instead of tomato past, added 1 tsp turmeric, and a stalk of celery and a handful of chopped baby beets. We used yogurt instead of lemon juice. SO GOOD and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
So simple and so delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States