Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I make this in batches to feed 50 people. I don't measure anything and I make it much less thick. Also I substitute barley for the rice. Everyone loves it. Every time. Even the meatiest of the meat eaters ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So so good and surprisingly full of flavor for being so healthy. I am a veggie so I substituted no sodium added vegetable broth. Also I loved the consistency after lentils were cooked and skipped the blender step to keep it thick. My new favorite dinner thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Even my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Recipe is great as is. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I’m trying to eat more vegetarian meals and learned that lentils are a good source of protein. Came across this recipe thinking it would be good for my work lunches but not so much as a family dinner. So wrong! When making it one afternoon the family smelled the aroma and swarmed the kitchen. After a taste test by all they decided they wanted it for dinner instead of what I already planned. Served it with naan and everyone loved it. To make the meal go further I added extra carrots and a few small Yukon gold potatoes. Also added curry powder and hot Indian chili power in place of the regular chili power. Next time I will double the recipe to fill up a family of 3 and to have enough leftover for my work lunches. Definitely a keeper to add to the weeknight meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a great base recipe for a delicious soup. I halved the chili powder so it wouldn't taste like chili, used a cup of salsa fresca instead of tomato past, added 1 tsp turmeric, and a stalk of celery and a handful of chopped baby beets. We used yogurt instead of lemon juice. SO GOOD and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
So simple and so delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very flavorful! 5 star for taste, but one less because it is way more than 8 servings! More like 20 or more. I added another 32 oz. of chicken broth to make it more like soup. Even without the added broth the serving size was much higher than 8. Will make this again definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made without tomato paste and in a pressure cooker with a cook time of 9 minutes after cooking onions and garlic. Also thought I should have doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States