Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is one of the best soups I have ever eaten! My husband made it for our dinner tonight. The only change he made was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. I honestly didn't have the highest hopes for this recipe. I thought it was going to be bland or boring, but instead it had a wonderful, tangy flavor. The lemon and the cilantro are KEY ingredients. AMAZING. Next time we will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Surprisingly tasty given the simplicity of this recipe. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great soup and very easy. Grated carrot and did not puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This soup was great!!! My husband and I are trying to follow the Eat to Live way of life and this fits in perfect. I probably doubled the chili powder and cumin and it tasted great. Also, I did not puree half of the soup, I like it chunky. I did not feel like washing another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Stumbled ontomthis recipe in my search to broaden my 1yrmold daughters food choices. Used organic red lentils, didn't have tomato paste (and wouldn't use it since it has high fructose corn syrup instead,boiled a whole tomato and puréed it) used two tablespoons of tomato purée. Followed directions, but instead of blending to thicken I simply put it to simmer a little longer 45 min or so on low since I wanted it cremier. Results were phenomenal! My daughter and I both loved it. Will make over and over again. Thank you Jodi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Good flavor. I think I added too many lentils because the consistency was like refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This soup was delicious, quick and easy. I should have taste tested before adding the second tablespoon of lemon juice, though... I'll definitely use just one tablespoon the next time. This will be my go-to lentil soup recipe from now on and I have a feeling I'll be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Excellent! Used green lentils because that is what I had on hand. Served w/ naan. Did double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina Bee
Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I just used the whole bag of lentils since there was only about 1/2 cup left. Then added 1 additional cup of broth...very good recipe. Perfect for winter time lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Applegate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe, to thicken it up and add more vitamins I added a bag of baby spinach and doubled the chicken broth (without doubling the spices). Blending half the mixture was a great tip and it created a filling and creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsmurray007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States