Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
What a joy this soup is. Followed recipe exactly. No sense to try to change perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLakeshore
Photo by Enjoycooking
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Really enjoyed this hot lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious! Followed the recipe except for the cilantro which would be tasty but not necessary, the fresh lemon I squeezed over my bowl really made it! I squeezed half the lemon over the pot of soup but tasting my bowl I thought it needed a touch more added directly to my bowl of soup, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
A great starter recipe. I would give it 5 stars but I did use/add a lot of items and spices: 2 spicy sausages skin removed and chopped, several teeny tiny potatoes from Trader Joes, 1 can of top notch canned tomatoes whole (just cut them in the pan as they cooked), a tsp of sugar, 3 10 oz package of Kale plus 1 10 ounce package of spinach, cayenne and Hungarian paprika, extra salt as needed, also used chicken stock cause that's what I had. Super healthy and good. as recipece says use what you have on hand-so sure I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very tasty! For us it's better as a chowder or side dish. We made the following changes: saute onion, garlic and carrots over medium until very tender. Add about 1/4 tsp. curry with spices and use marinara instead of tomato paste. Only use 3 cups chicken broth so it's a bit thicker rather than soup-like. No olive oil or extra chili powder to finish just cilantro & lime juice. N - with sour cream C - with grilled chicken and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was a little resistant to making this soup. I am not a huge lentil fan. This soup was so good! I would definitely double the recipe next time and possibly add more vegetables. I think that kale and celery would be great. However this recipe is fantastic just as it is! Personally I think that cilantro makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicioso! I made it today. Wife said it was even better than her version of Lentil soup. Yeah! I made more than double the amount in the recipe. I added celery about 2 cups, a can of diced tomatoes and a 13.6oz can of coconut milk which added a bit of texture / creaminess. I didn't puree it because we like the whole veggies, But I will try it with a portion of it. It's a knockout recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is my go-to soup! I use ketchup whenever I make it so I don't have to buy tomato paste. I use vegetable broth because I'm vegetarian. And I skip the olive oil drizzle and chili powder at the end; I don't find that it needs it. Very minimal changes that I doubt change the flavor very much at all. I find that it takes less than 45 minutes to make, and it's a piece of cake to make since 30 of those minutes it's just simmering! I use an immersion blender at the end to get it to a consistency I like. My boyfriend and I gobble this up every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So delicious! Great flavor and very filling. Our only complaint was that I didn't double the recipe. Next time I will leave more chunks for texture as well per my husband's request. Even the baby enjoyed her serving (without the lemon and cilantro). It's a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Most of the family loved it! Made it exactly as written except doubled the amounts. . The fresh lemon is a must and gives it a very refreshing flavor. Very satisfying and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States