Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious! Followed the recipe except for the cilantro which would be tasty but not necessary, the fresh lemon I squeezed over my bowl really made it! I squeezed half the lemon over the pot of soup but tasting my bowl I thought it needed a touch more added directly to my bowl of soup, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
A great starter recipe. I would give it 5 stars but I did use/add a lot of items and spices: 2 spicy sausages skin removed and chopped, several teeny tiny potatoes from Trader Joes, 1 can of top notch canned tomatoes whole (just cut them in the pan as they cooked), a tsp of sugar, 3 10 oz package of Kale plus 1 10 ounce package of spinach, cayenne and Hungarian paprika, extra salt as needed, also used chicken stock cause that's what I had. Super healthy and good. as recipece says use what you have on hand-so sure I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very tasty! For us it's better as a chowder or side dish. We made the following changes: saute onion, garlic and carrots over medium until very tender. Add about 1/4 tsp. curry with spices and use marinara instead of tomato paste. Only use 3 cups chicken broth so it's a bit thicker rather than soup-like. No olive oil or extra chili powder to finish just cilantro & lime juice. N - with sour cream C - with grilled chicken and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was a little resistant to making this soup. I am not a huge lentil fan. This soup was so good! I would definitely double the recipe next time and possibly add more vegetables. I think that kale and celery would be great. However this recipe is fantastic just as it is! Personally I think that cilantro makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicioso! I made it today. Wife said it was even better than her version of Lentil soup. Yeah! I made more than double the amount in the recipe. I added celery about 2 cups, a can of diced tomatoes and a 13.6oz can of coconut milk which added a bit of texture / creaminess. I didn't puree it because we like the whole veggies, But I will try it with a portion of it. It's a knockout recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is my go-to soup! I use ketchup whenever I make it so I don't have to buy tomato paste. I use vegetable broth because I'm vegetarian. And I skip the olive oil drizzle and chili powder at the end; I don't find that it needs it. Very minimal changes that I doubt change the flavor very much at all. I find that it takes less than 45 minutes to make, and it's a piece of cake to make since 30 of those minutes it's just simmering! I use an immersion blender at the end to get it to a consistency I like. My boyfriend and I gobble this up every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So delicious! Great flavor and very filling. Our only complaint was that I didn't double the recipe. Next time I will leave more chunks for texture as well per my husband's request. Even the baby enjoyed her serving (without the lemon and cilantro). It's a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Most of the family loved it! Made it exactly as written except doubled the amounts. . The fresh lemon is a must and gives it a very refreshing flavor. Very satisfying and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing! I forgot the chili pepper at the end but I didn't miss it at all. This tastes as good as anything from the Indian restaurant. Love!!! It doesn't make a lot so next time I will double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States