Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Amazing! I don't change a thing, and my husband and guests go crazy for this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I am obsessed with this soup. It is delicious, easy to make, and great for healthy & hearty meals. I have now made 2 times, exactly as written, with the exception of doubling the recipe (frozen portions for lunches!), and adding a bit more cumin and chili powder (and did not serve with extra EVOO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Excellent! I've tried numerous lentil soups but this is the one for me. Fresh flavors and nice texture. I may have added more carrot than what was written but still fabulous. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This soup is amazing!! thanks for the recipe. I didn't have chicken stock so I used 6 cups of water and 2 chicken boillon cubes. I used an handheld blender. The cilantro really gives it a nice zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. It has a wonderful flavor. I couldn't find red lentils on my only stop so used brown lentils that I soaked for an hour before starting the soup. I drained them before adding with the broth. I made as written except added the cilantro leaves and lemon juice to the third I ran through the blender then poured back in the soup pot. No need to use a second pan or chop the cilantro this way. Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe! (Please don't overfill a blender container with hot liquids. I stick to 1/3 of the container just to be safe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe! Made exactly as written, except replaced chicken broth with veggie broth. It was a bit thin, so next time I might add 1/4 cup or so more lentils for a thicker final product. Incredibly flavorful and very easy & fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
First time rating anything but I had to. Absolutely devine and flavorful. Didn't have tomato paste so used ketchup and didn't have cilantro. Didn't need it but I could see where it would be a nice addition. Doubled the lemon juice actually half was lime. Wish I had made more. Used regular green lentils and it was still good. Will def be making again and again. Not sure who posted this had no flavor. You are dead wrong. Awesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I reduced the olive oil to 1 TB, for sauteing the onions and garlic (which I upped to 4 cloves because I love garlic and some other reviewers complained of blandness), because for health reasons I need to avoid fats and oils as much as possible. I omitted the final 4 tsp of olive oil added at the end entirely. And despite that, this was delicious! So anyone who needs to reduce their fat intake can feel safe reducing the oil called for in the recipe, without fear of ruining the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
So incredibly good. Used vegetable stock to make it a truly delicios/filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow! Prepared the soup as the recipe's written and was not disappointed at all. Tonight was the beginning of a new recipe making it's home in my cooking rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States