Lentil Soup with Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Holy moly this is good! I followed the recipe exactly except I used french lentils instead of red, and I added some lemon zest. This is FANTASTIC! This will become a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Hood
Home Town: King City, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought this was very good. Made it as written except added the lemon and cilantro to individual bowls in cases we didnt like it, as it tasted good without too. I loved it my husband didnt care for it. But I am starting to realize he just doesnt care for lentils or cilantro..He didnt care for it with or without the lemon and cilantro but was willing to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I doubled the chili powder & cumin and added a fresh birdseye pepper to give it an extra kick. I also didn't bother to puree it - I like the chunkyness of the lentils & carrots moreso than the liquid soup version. Overall very delicious, no matter the consistency you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Perfect! I took this soup to work for lunch so I left out the last drizzle of olive oil and added a bit more chili powder to the initial pot when cooking, but this is my new favorite soup. Easy, healthy, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Amazing! I don't change a thing, and my husband and guests go crazy for this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I am obsessed with this soup. It is delicious, easy to make, and great for healthy & hearty meals. I have now made 2 times, exactly as written, with the exception of doubling the recipe (frozen portions for lunches!), and adding a bit more cumin and chili powder (and did not serve with extra EVOO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Excellent! I've tried numerous lentil soups but this is the one for me. Fresh flavors and nice texture. I may have added more carrot than what was written but still fabulous. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This soup is amazing!! thanks for the recipe. I didn't have chicken stock so I used 6 cups of water and 2 chicken boillon cubes. I used an handheld blender. The cilantro really gives it a nice zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is a keeper. It has a wonderful flavor. I couldn't find red lentils on my only stop so used brown lentils that I soaked for an hour before starting the soup. I drained them before adding with the broth. I made as written except added the cilantro leaves and lemon juice to the third I ran through the blender then poured back in the soup pot. No need to use a second pan or chop the cilantro this way. Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe! (Please don't overfill a blender container with hot liquids. I stick to 1/3 of the container just to be safe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe! Made exactly as written, except replaced chicken broth with veggie broth. It was a bit thin, so next time I might add 1/4 cup or so more lentils for a thicker final product. Incredibly flavorful and very easy & fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States