Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this recipe as I found it tasted way too much like chili. This meal wasn't all lost in that I froze the lentils and now have a chili base ready to go when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome tasting and simple. I forgot to cover the soup and it took significantly longer to cook (in addition to needing water added), so remember to cover it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe is delicious, but the 5 stars is for ease of preparation! This is perfect after a long day of school, is really fast, and keeps well in the fridge. I made it exactly as instructed with the tiny exception of using 1/2 cup of tomato sauce instead of 1/4 cup tomato paste, but both seem just fine to me. The cumin MAKES the recipe and stands beautifully by itself, but you may salt and pepper to taste if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made this soup a couple of times and both times it came out great. I did find that I needed the full can of tomato paste but other than that this recipe can be very adaptable. First time I made it as written second time I added a sliced carrot in there. Very yummy and a keeper forsure. I like how hearty it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious and easy! Added carrots and used homemade chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious, inexpensive, simple and quick soup!! I added Turkey since I had some leftover from Thanksgiving but will add spicy sausage next time! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I love this soup! It took about 5 min to throw everything in the pot and was actually way more delicious than I was expecting. I added an extra clove of garlic, about twice the amount of tomato paste, and a diced carrot. I think the squeeze of lemon at the end makes this the best. I topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt and sliced green onions with toasty wholewheat bread on the side. mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was very good and very easy as I had everything on hand. I did have a couple carrots, celery, and a turnip to use up so I threw those in along with a couple bay leaf. Hubby always looks for the meat in meals but I felt this soup was filling and satisfying without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CC<3's2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This soup has a nice light, 'clear' broth, just the way I like it, but the seasoning leaves a little to be desired. I would leave out the cumin, which is overpowering, and go with some freshly ground coriander seed instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I think I like the spinach lentil soup recipe on this site better. Very average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States