Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Only change I made was to saute the onion and garlic for a few minutes. Absolutely delicious, hearty, simple soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I really liked this. So easy and yummy. I used red lentils,added a little more tomato paste, and sprinkled crumbled feta cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Quick and easy and very good. Nice and flavorful. Very nice the next day as leftovers for lunch - the flavors blended even more. Made this as-is except I put the whole can of tomato paste in so I wouldn't have leftovers. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very tasty and a great weeknight meal. There was no salt or pepper called for in the recipe. I thought it needed some so I added to my family's taste. I wound up cooking this for an hour to get the lentils good and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I tried this on a whim...I wanted something tasty, healthy and easy. This fit the bill PERFECT. My daughter and I like the health benefits of legumes but aren't too crazy about pinto beans. We look forward to this soup, I make it at least once a week. Of note, I usually don't keep tomato paste in the house, so I used a couple squirts of tomato ketchup. It sounds bad but it's really good. That was my only variation. Love this recipe to bits! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this recipe as I found it tasted way too much like chili. This meal wasn't all lost in that I froze the lentils and now have a chili base ready to go when needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Awesome tasting and simple. I forgot to cover the soup and it took significantly longer to cook (in addition to needing water added), so remember to cover it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe is delicious, but the 5 stars is for ease of preparation! This is perfect after a long day of school, is really fast, and keeps well in the fridge. I made it exactly as instructed with the tiny exception of using 1/2 cup of tomato sauce instead of 1/4 cup tomato paste, but both seem just fine to me. The cumin MAKES the recipe and stands beautifully by itself, but you may salt and pepper to taste if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have made this soup a couple of times and both times it came out great. I did find that I needed the full can of tomato paste but other than that this recipe can be very adaptable. First time I made it as written second time I added a sliced carrot in there. Very yummy and a keeper forsure. I like how hearty it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States