Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Easy, healthy and lovely. I made it vegetarian/vegan by using a vegetable boullion cube instead of chicken stock. I used extra garlic, shook in the cumin w/o measuring, and on impulse added a little salt, black pepper and a couple drops of liquid smoke. The flavor of the broth was warm, comforting and incredible - it'd be a great vegetarian replacement for chicken soup when you're ill. I'll make this again, ill or not, with extra onions and probably some carrots and celery in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Great! Try it with some salt pork for extra flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this soup in less than 5 minutes. I also used already steamed lentils which cut the cooking time in 1/2. It is delicious, quick and easy. I also sautéed the onion and garlic with a little olive oil 1st and added the cumin at that point to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Easy and great. We add a little tomato paste and vinegar...carrot and cook about an hour. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Only change I made was to saute the onion and garlic for a few minutes. Absolutely delicious, hearty, simple soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I really liked this. So easy and yummy. I used red lentils,added a little more tomato paste, and sprinkled crumbled feta cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Quick and easy and very good. Nice and flavorful. Very nice the next day as leftovers for lunch - the flavors blended even more. Made this as-is except I put the whole can of tomato paste in so I wouldn't have leftovers. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very tasty and a great weeknight meal. There was no salt or pepper called for in the recipe. I thought it needed some so I added to my family's taste. I wound up cooking this for an hour to get the lentils good and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I tried this on a whim...I wanted something tasty, healthy and easy. This fit the bill PERFECT. My daughter and I like the health benefits of legumes but aren't too crazy about pinto beans. We look forward to this soup, I make it at least once a week. Of note, I usually don't keep tomato paste in the house, so I used a couple squirts of tomato ketchup. It sounds bad but it's really good. That was my only variation. Love this recipe to bits! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States