Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Tried it with a good veggie broth instead of chicken broth. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
So very simple and satisfying! Thank you for this recipe.My kids don't care for lentils, but were running to the kitchen when they smelt this cooking. I added ham to my soup for extra flavor and all my kids tried a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great recipie! I followed suggestions from other reviewers and added carrots and a whole can of tomato paste and it turned out really well. It was very good with soda bread/brown bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe three times, and I'm in love with it :). My friends and family all thought it tasted like something right out of a restaurant! I, however, did make quite a few alterations as suggested by other reviewers. I halved the recipe, because it makes a lot, and used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth. I used 3 cloves of garlic, chopped it up with some onions, and sauteed it in olive oil with a couple bay leaves until everything was tender and brown. I also found that after using low sodium broth, you will need to add some salt to compensate. Also, add some dried parsley to it. It really tastes great in the soup. I loved the recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
fairly tasty, but I think I cooked the lentils too long, they are kinda mushy, I guess 45 mins was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe along with some hearty, crusty bread and a hard cheese on the side. I did as other suggested and added carrots. A very filling soup - so healthy, and conveniently vegetarian. If I wanted to make this non-vegetarian I would add some cubed salt cured ham, and I think that would be great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This soup was good but needed a lot more seasoning. It was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe formed the base of a really simple, delicious soup great for cold winter nights. I used several of the suggestions listed below - I added a full can of tomato paste, four cloves of garlic, which I sauteed with the onion and 2 bay leaves. I also added a pinch each of cardamom and garam masala which gives the soup a nice aroma. And lastly, I added some finely chopped bacon to give it some extra flavor. This one was definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I used green lentils, and I wonder should I have used a different kind? The good news is it made tasty lentils, but not a soup. I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato paste, and that probably made a difference. I added carrot, yellow pepper that I needed to get rid of, cayenne pepper, and curry. I agree that celery would make an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Good soup- perfect for a chilly evening. I did not have tomato paste so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and it worked out great! I also added some crushed red pepper since I like things spicy. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States