Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
fairly tasty, but I think I cooked the lentils too long, they are kinda mushy, I guess 45 mins was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe along with some hearty, crusty bread and a hard cheese on the side. I did as other suggested and added carrots. A very filling soup - so healthy, and conveniently vegetarian. If I wanted to make this non-vegetarian I would add some cubed salt cured ham, and I think that would be great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This soup was good but needed a lot more seasoning. It was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe formed the base of a really simple, delicious soup great for cold winter nights. I used several of the suggestions listed below - I added a full can of tomato paste, four cloves of garlic, which I sauteed with the onion and 2 bay leaves. I also added a pinch each of cardamom and garam masala which gives the soup a nice aroma. And lastly, I added some finely chopped bacon to give it some extra flavor. This one was definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I used green lentils, and I wonder should I have used a different kind? The good news is it made tasty lentils, but not a soup. I used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato paste, and that probably made a difference. I added carrot, yellow pepper that I needed to get rid of, cayenne pepper, and curry. I agree that celery would make an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Good soup- perfect for a chilly evening. I did not have tomato paste so I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and it worked out great! I also added some crushed red pepper since I like things spicy. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I would suggest a little longer cooking for softer lentils. For some reason, mine did not cook as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Good, but not amazing. Seemed to be missing something. A bit bland. Made a huge pot of soup, though! Here's a hint: if you're cooking it for vegetarians, substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth, or you'll look like a major doof. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Incredibly easy, very filling and extremely healthy recipe. We added some onion and carrot, along with some hot pepper flakes and wowee! Delicious! I will keep some of this made up for busy days where I have to be outdoors in the cold weather all day and have no time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rarehorses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Kind of boring and flavorless. Even with the alterations I made (carrots, a few bay leaves, more garlic, a jalapeno pepper, ground black pepper), it was decent at best. I had to add way more than the required amount of broth for it to become remotely soup-like. Giving it three stars because it may be something I return to. It does provide a good base upon which you can probably build a delicious dish. By the way, this recipe makes A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States