Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Such an excellent recipe. I appreciated the short list of ingredients and very little preparation. The soup is delicious, and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I loved this recipe! I left out the cumin (not crazy about it) and added some diced carrots and celery. I also added an extra clove of garlic. GREAT basic recipe!! Thanks Molly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a delicious and simple soup! My friend Katy cooked this up for me after work on a Friday evening. I always think of soups as taking hours to cook on the stove, but not true! This ready in a snap. She used whole cumin which I ground with mortar and pistle and also added carrots which I thought was a necessary touch for color as well as character. But the flavor was plentiful and the ease was astounding. Served with thick slices of rustic bread and hard cheeses on the side, this is a delite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
i haven't tried this yet but my husband raved about it and it did smell wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Instead of the tomato paste, I made it with a cup of spaghetti sauce and added chopped celery, and 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt. My husband loved it, so did I!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I scaled this recipe for 40 people and used it in a Community Kitchen group (a bunch of people getting together to learn cooking skills). It was a big hit - and very delicious. Best part was that it's easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This recipe was great and best of all, easy and fast. I adapted it a bit by putting in extra cumin (my husband loves this spice), extra tomato paste, and some smoked sausage. I was actually worried about the salt content since I didn't use anything that was low sodium, but it turned out great, no extra salt was necessary. This will definitely remain an emergency-meal recipe for my household (you can keep everything you need on hand and freeze extras). Also, for those of you who know people on those low-carb diets, this is a quick meal that is balanced and even better than balanced once you add a bit of extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Lentil is the easiest bean soup to make and this is one I will continue to make! I sauteed some bacon and removed leaving the grease to saute the onion, carrot(added) and garlic. I added the remaining ingrediants along with some tumeric. After 35 minutes I used the boat motor to puree. Stirred in some chopped spinach. Topped with sour cream, bacon pieces and chives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This soup is SO good and SO easy! I just made it and can't wait to dig in. Here's what I did a little differently from the recipe thanks to the suggestions of my fellow reviewers: I used 3 cloves of garlic (never too much!). I thinly sliced 3 carrots and added them. I used the entire 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I dumped in a bunch of garlic powder. I sauteed the garlic and onions together for just a few minutes before I added everything else. I simmered the soup for 45 minutes, and it made it nice and thick. This recipe is a total keeper. I plan on keeping the ingredients around all the time. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I'm giving this one a bonus star because it's lentils. It's definately the best Lentil recipe I've ever tasted. I'm not a fan of this bean, but my mother loves it and made us eat them as children. I actually enjoyed these, though. I served them with cornbread muffins and it was really good. It wasn't very "soupy" - mine had very little broth. I also added an extra tablespoon or so of tomato paste and left out the lemon. We will have this again, maybe even regularly. (My mother would be so proud.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States