Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made a few alterations to this basic recipe and the result was the most amazing, hearty, homemade lentil soup I have ever had. I used 4 cloves of garlic sauteed with the onion and 2 bay leaves for 5 minutes. Then I added all the other ingredients, plus a generous shake of parsley and paprika. I also added 1 chopped fresh tomato and cut spinach (stems removed). I had to add extra liquid to compensante for how much liquid the lentils absorbed. The cumin is what absolutely makes this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This soup is SO good and SO easy! I just made it and can't wait to dig in. Here's what I did a little differently from the recipe thanks to the suggestions of my fellow reviewers: I used 3 cloves of garlic (never too much!). I thinly sliced 3 carrots and added them. I used the entire 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I dumped in a bunch of garlic powder. I sauteed the garlic and onions together for just a few minutes before I added everything else. I simmered the soup for 45 minutes, and it made it nice and thick. This recipe is a total keeper. I plan on keeping the ingredients around all the time. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a delicious and simple soup! My friend Katy cooked this up for me after work on a Friday evening. I always think of soups as taking hours to cook on the stove, but not true! This ready in a snap. She used whole cumin which I ground with mortar and pistle and also added carrots which I thought was a necessary touch for color as well as character. But the flavor was plentiful and the ease was astounding. Served with thick slices of rustic bread and hard cheeses on the side, this is a delite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Like others, I made a few additions - a whole can of paste, sliced carrots, doubled garlic, doubled cumin, 3-4 pinches each of dried cilantro and curry powder. Didn't saute anything first, just threw it all in the pot. SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD. Thank you for this amazingly easy and healthy recipe! I'm going to make this all the time. (By the way, the additional tomato paste also adds more color to the soup so it's not as drab-looking, if you care about that sort of thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
very bland and I wound up throwing ot out. No one seemed to like it at my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Taking hints from other reviews, I snazzed up the seasonings, and got a hit! When my teenagers will eat a hearty healthy soup like this one, and ask for seconds, we have success. I sauteed the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, and two bay leaves in olive oil, then added the rest of the ingredients, including two chicken bullion cubes, since I keep my homemade stock on the plain side. I salted and peppered throughout the cooking process, as needed, and even added a dash or two of garlic powder at the end. I think one must look at this as a soup that one must season to taste. We love it! I served it with Italian bread bowls, from this site; YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Instead of the tomato paste, I made it with a cup of spaghetti sauce and added chopped celery, and 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt. My husband loved it, so did I!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Lentil is the easiest bean soup to make and this is one I will continue to make! I sauteed some bacon and removed leaving the grease to saute the onion, carrot(added) and garlic. I added the remaining ingrediants along with some tumeric. After 35 minutes I used the boat motor to puree. Stirred in some chopped spinach. Topped with sour cream, bacon pieces and chives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNERIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
very yummy and ridiculously easy! I added the whole little can of tomato paste, so I don't know if that's a 1/4 cup. I also simmered it down to a stew-like consistency (about an hour more on way LOW). Excellent served in bread bowls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This turned out really well. I have a few things I changed. When adding onions to soups I find my kids complain about the texture of them so I GRATE them into the oil first! You get all the flavor but without texture issues with picky people. Also added a bit of garlic. After that turns into a sizzling yummy paste I add chopped celery (3+ stalks) and 1 tomato. I used 2 5.5oz cans of V8 in place of paste, didn't have any on hand. Doubled the cumin. Added fresh cilantro. Added 1 cup dehydrated spinach (I add that to almost EVERYTHING! LoL). Added water as it cooked down. Next time I would add carrots, I didn't have any on hand this time. I would also cut back on cumin to about 1 1/2 T and add some chipotle tabasco sauce. Perfect amount of salt even with none added. Served with sprinkled grated parmesan cheese. Next time will also sprinkle fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States