Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a delicious and simple soup! My friend Katy cooked this up for me after work on a Friday evening. I always think of soups as taking hours to cook on the stove, but not true! This ready in a snap. She used whole cumin which I ground with mortar and pistle and also added carrots which I thought was a necessary touch for color as well as character. But the flavor was plentiful and the ease was astounding. Served with thick slices of rustic bread and hard cheeses on the side, this is a delite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
very bland and I wound up throwing ot out. No one seemed to like it at my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Great quick and easy soup, I made it in 5 minutes. I started a diet today and thought it would be a nutritious and good. I am Greek and we have a family lentil soup that we sprinkle red wine vinegar on, very good also. The lentils tend to discolor after I put them in the frig, any suggestions? mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I added the carrots for appearance and, just because the spice bottle decided to dump it all, added 2 T. cumin. It was needed. This was nice but I have a better but similar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
i haven't tried this yet but my husband raved about it and it did smell wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Instead of the tomato paste, I made it with a cup of spaghetti sauce and added chopped celery, and 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt. My husband loved it, so did I!! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Lentil Soup was very good. Definitely will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I scaled this recipe for 40 people and used it in a Community Kitchen group (a bunch of people getting together to learn cooking skills). It was a big hit - and very delicious. Best part was that it's easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Soooo easy and YUMMY!!! The only thing I added was a dash of tobasco sauce to give it a kick. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Such an excellent recipe. I appreciated the short list of ingredients and very little preparation. The soup is delicious, and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States