Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This soup is awesome. I made 1/2 batch with veg broth as my daughter is a vegetarian and used red lentils and added carrots and celery - what an easy and tasty soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was my first time making lentils and this recipe is very good and very easy! I did have a few changes. I used 1qt of chicken broth and 1qt water. I added curry power instead of cumin, increased the garlic, used an entire little can of tomato paste and added some left over spaghetti sauce. Next time I will add sausage based off of my boyfriend's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a great base for lentil soup. However, the last 10 minutes I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and dry red wine. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This soup is so good! I've really never made anything like this but it was very filling and tasty. I added a bit of parsley and garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I think I might use a bit more stock next time as it was really thick, but all in all I think this is a fantastic fast, easy, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
One of my absolute favorite recipes...extremely easy and delicious, reheats well, and very very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is a nice, easy, tasty recipe. I followed the recipe closely (including the lemon spritz at the end) and added grated romano cheese over the top before serving. My husband liked it and this is a keeper! Make sure you rinse the lentils first to avoid the possibility little stones in the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUMMY! This was so good, it's now one of my staples! I was a little scared that the cumin was gonna make it tast like chili but that was not the case at all. I added two cloves of garlic but added a little garlic salt once it was done. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is an excellent simple recipe for those cool autumnal evenings. Also good for busy parents or college students because it takes little time to prepare and the ingredients are cheap, and the dish is healthy. Next time I try it, though, I'll probably add another half an onion and another clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Der Wolkenkaiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
cheap easy and quick, this one is a winner when I'm all out of groceries at the end of the week. I like to jazz it up with a few extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great soup! Easy and healthy as long as salt is kept to a minimum. I used 3 cloves garlic, 1 1/2 tablespoon cumin, and a shake of curry. Also sauteed onion and garlic for a few minutes in olive oil before adding to the soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States