Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was really delicious and hearty. I followed the directions exactly, and it had a good body, great flavor, and so easy. I will keep this on hand for a good way to use up lentils, and a great way to throw a soup together with virtually no chopping (just the onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Loved it! Only changes were more garlic and I added carrots for some extra chunkiness. Will probably add some tomatoes or other veggies next time just because we like them. Otherwise, great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Like others I changed the following and it was perfect. I doubled the garlic then sautéed with onion and bay leaf in olive oil. I used a whole 6oz can of tomato paste and added a can of diced tomato (mexican seasoned). I also added a couple dashes of garlic powder, paprika and parsley. Finally I added 2 cups of fresh chopped spinach. Soup looks fantastic and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Awesome! I never use exact directions so I just added everything to taste, using some tomato sauce i had frozen, and a curry spice mix I made a couple days ago in place of just cumin. I made it three times in two days (lack of groceries) and it was delicious every time. Once I even added a tablespoon or so of cream and it gave it a richer feel and lighter color. Very tasty, easy to adjust, healthy, and so cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup is soooo good! I added some extra garlic, carrots, and one bunch of fresh spinach at the end. Very filling, healthy, and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is completely amazing. I added carrots because the picture sure looks like they are in there. It hit the spot!! I will definitely be making this many times this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I am looking for a better recipe, I honestly didn't like this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This soup is awesome. I made 1/2 batch with veg broth as my daughter is a vegetarian and used red lentils and added carrots and celery - what an easy and tasty soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was my first time making lentils and this recipe is very good and very easy! I did have a few changes. I used 1qt of chicken broth and 1qt water. I added curry power instead of cumin, increased the garlic, used an entire little can of tomato paste and added some left over spaghetti sauce. Next time I will add sausage based off of my boyfriend's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a great base for lentil soup. However, the last 10 minutes I added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and dry red wine. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States