Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was a somewhat yummy soup, but not that nice to look at. I know it shouldn't matter, but the consistency was a little mucky and the lack of color/presentation made this dish less desirable to cook and serve than other lentil soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Easy soup to make. I halved it by using just 1 cup lentils, 4 cups chicken broth, only half an onion, and small can of tomato paste. Also added large can of mixed vegetables (carrots, celery, potatoes, corn, and green beans). I think the vegetables really made the soup. Just added a little salt and pepper for spices. I'm sure I'll be making this again, especially during the winter months. It's very low cost and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
easy, quick and super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is fantastic! I make it once or twice a week on average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I didn't care for this. I enjoy cumin, but not in this soup. Besides the cumin flavor, this was bland. Also, if you don't cook the lentils about 10 minutes in water before adding to this or any recipe that has salt or tomatoes, the beans remain undercooked unless you cook them all day in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabster
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very easy very good! I put some EVOO in first and sauteed onion, 4 cloves of garlic, carrots, celery and a bay leaf as suggested. I then added the lentils and the chicken broth, 1 whole can of tomato puree, frozen peas, cumin and a little salt and pepper. I think it cooked for longer than 45 min...1 hr. maybe. Garnished with queso fresco and cilantro YUM. Even my son who doesn't like lentils said they were good! Thanks Molly for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I really wanted to like this because it was so easy to make and pretty nutritious. However, it was really bland. I did add carrots and extra tomato paste as other recommended, but it was still lacking. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good soup recipe although i made a few adjustments...i diced up some celery and carrots in addition to the onions and garlic and sauteed those before adding the broth an lentils...i added some black pepper and paprika, and used petite diced tomatoes instead of the paste for a heartier feel. Cookers beware: the lentils took about 1.5 hours to really soften as opposed to the 30 minutes stated in the cook time. At 30 minutes my beans were pretty crispy still. Very very good soup in the end though...and i think it will be even better tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Came out pretty good. Only thing I did different was add some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States