Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This turned out really well. I have a few things I changed. When adding onions to soups I find my kids complain about the texture of them so I GRATE them into the oil first! You get all the flavor but without texture issues with picky people. Also added a bit of garlic. After that turns into a sizzling yummy paste I add chopped celery (3+ stalks) and 1 tomato. I used 2 5.5oz cans of V8 in place of paste, didn't have any on hand. Doubled the cumin. Added fresh cilantro. Added 1 cup dehydrated spinach (I add that to almost EVERYTHING! LoL). Added water as it cooked down. Next time I would add carrots, I didn't have any on hand this time. I would also cut back on cumin to about 1 1/2 T and add some chipotle tabasco sauce. Perfect amount of salt even with none added. Served with sprinkled grated parmesan cheese. Next time will also sprinkle fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I made it with vegetable broth to keep it vegetarian, it was very flavorful and hearty. I probably used about 1/2 cup of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Tasty, I had to substitute tomato sauce for the paste because it was all I had on hand. I threw in some fresh chopped spinach. I'm sure the soup will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very tasty. I added carrots, onion, and frozen chopped spinach, and it came out great! I did need to add quite a bit of extra liquid though, which meant I had a huge amount of soup. It freezes and reheats just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Easy and good! I halved the recipe and used garlic salt and onion powder, tomato sauce, water and bullion. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
soup is ok. i added an extra 1/4 c of tomato paste and some basil and parsley. also carrots for a little extra texture. it's filling and i feel satisfied that it's very healthy. just a little blah...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyms8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I really liked the simplicity of this soup...I made a batch early this morning and have been nibbling small bowls of it ever since. I've been under the weather for more than a week, and this is great comfort food. I gave it four stars rather than five because it lacks 'wow factor', but it will definitely be part of my regular soup rotation. Like other reviewers, I doubled the garlic, used a whole can of tomato paste, and sprinkled in a bit of curry powder and coriander, although I can't really taste the last two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I added a couple of Tablespoons of my favorite barbecue sauce. My husband loved the flavor. It was over powering a hint of sweetness and smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
for those that say lentil soup is BLAND: I think you have to grow up eating this soup as a child. CARROTS & CELERY (make sure to include the LEAVES) are a HUGE help along with bay leaves. I add sausage or keilbasa or ham for my meat loving husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Key words - no time to cook, Everything in-house. Added home grown carrotts, put up in my freezer, topped with loads of parsley & cheddar cheese. Perfect for last nite. Busy holiday time, 26 degrees. 6 people including 4 teens, no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States