Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a really delicious, filling, and easy to make soup. I used the variations others suggested (sauteeing the onions with garlic and bay leaves beforehand) and it came out very flavorful. I'm adding it to my regular rotation, especially for wintertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
A very hearty soup that sticks to your ribs. I added some leftover rice in place of some lentils and added some carrots. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Good, basic recipe. To make it gluten free (for a friend) I used water instead of broth, added celery, and more spices. I also added about a cup of dry brown rice. To make it husband-friendly, I then added cooked chicken and a package of taco seasoning. Okay tasting, but very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Taking hints from other reviews, I snazzed up the seasonings, and got a hit! When my teenagers will eat a hearty healthy soup like this one, and ask for seconds, we have success. I sauteed the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, and two bay leaves in olive oil, then added the rest of the ingredients, including two chicken bullion cubes, since I keep my homemade stock on the plain side. I salted and peppered throughout the cooking process, as needed, and even added a dash or two of garlic powder at the end. I think one must look at this as a soup that one must season to taste. We love it! I served it with Italian bread bowls, from this site; YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I LOVED this recipe! I ended up using 2 large cans of chicken broth, added fresh spinach and also added some black and white pepper. I barely changed the recipe. It was wonderful! This recipe will be a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNERIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
very yummy and ridiculously easy! I added the whole little can of tomato paste, so I don't know if that's a 1/4 cup. I also simmered it down to a stew-like consistency (about an hour more on way LOW). Excellent served in bread bowls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Great. Added celery and paprika and some chili powder as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Looking at the few simple ingredients you think this is going to be a little bland but it's very tasty,filling and comforting-real winter warming,I had to add a bit more water but obviously that's personal taste.yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My husband and I loved it. Very quick and easy plus I didn't even have to make a trip to the grocery store! I added the whole can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yum! Super easy. Here are some things I did differently. I used 4 cloves of garlic (instead of two). I sauted the onions and added one chopped carrot. I also added two pinches each of curry powder, garlic powder, and chille powder. In addition I added three tablespoons of salsa verde (Trader Joes!). Next time I would have used less broth (maybe just 1C less). The next day it tasted great-better than the day I made it. Note: I used chicken bullion, which i found made the soup tons more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States