Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Taking hints from other reviews, I snazzed up the seasonings, and got a hit! When my teenagers will eat a hearty healthy soup like this one, and ask for seconds, we have success. I sauteed the onion, 4 cloves of garlic, and two bay leaves in olive oil, then added the rest of the ingredients, including two chicken bullion cubes, since I keep my homemade stock on the plain side. I salted and peppered throughout the cooking process, as needed, and even added a dash or two of garlic powder at the end. I think one must look at this as a soup that one must season to taste. We love it! I served it with Italian bread bowls, from this site; YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTIANAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I LOVED this recipe! I ended up using 2 large cans of chicken broth, added fresh spinach and also added some black and white pepper. I barely changed the recipe. It was wonderful! This recipe will be a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNERIE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
very yummy and ridiculously easy! I added the whole little can of tomato paste, so I don't know if that's a 1/4 cup. I also simmered it down to a stew-like consistency (about an hour more on way LOW). Excellent served in bread bowls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Great. Added celery and paprika and some chili powder as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Looking at the few simple ingredients you think this is going to be a little bland but it's very tasty,filling and comforting-real winter warming,I had to add a bit more water but obviously that's personal taste.yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My husband and I loved it. Very quick and easy plus I didn't even have to make a trip to the grocery store! I added the whole can of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yum! Super easy. Here are some things I did differently. I used 4 cloves of garlic (instead of two). I sauted the onions and added one chopped carrot. I also added two pinches each of curry powder, garlic powder, and chille powder. In addition I added three tablespoons of salsa verde (Trader Joes!). Next time I would have used less broth (maybe just 1C less). The next day it tasted great-better than the day I made it. Note: I used chicken bullion, which i found made the soup tons more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was a really simple, quick recipe that tasted great with a few additions. To make it vegan, we used vegetable broth, thinly sliced carrots and celery, and 4 oz tomato sauce rather than tomato paste. It's great with a hunk of toasted, chewy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO'Hare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I loved this soup. If you like lentils you love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I add whatever veggies I have on hand, this soup is good with anything from cabbage to bok choy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States