Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This soup is quick, easy, very filling and a good healthy protein source! To make it even easier, I just throw all the ingredients into a crock pot at once, and cook on high for a few hours, until lentils are soft. I like to dress it up by adding a small dollop of sour cream and some shredded cheddar cheese to the top of each bowl, provide optional hot sauce, then serve with a crusty roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious, filling, and best of all: EASY! I love soups of all kinds, but I'm not necessarily a lentil kind of person....However, this really won me over! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yum! I made the following changes. I sauteed 1 tbsp garlic with the onion first, added half of a chicken breast, diced, until the chicken cooked. Then i added maybe 1/4 cup of white cooking wine and let that reduce a bit. I removed the chicken, put in the rest of the ingredients, cooked it according to the directions, and added the chicken at the end. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry powder, which I thought was a nice touch. Also, if you don't want your soup to be dull, rinse the lentils under lukewarm water till the water runs clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe as is or with additions. We added diced tomato and increased the garlic to 3 cloves. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We thought this was great! I don't like cooked carrots, so left them out and added celery, green pepper, onions and wasn't very careful about how much, I just dumped. Also used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the paste. Used boullion cubes & water rather than any prepared broth and it turned out wonderful. Even hubby who is not a big soup eater liked it. Easy and cheap with no meat to worry about. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
As previous reviewers suggested, I sauted the onion and some minced garlic before adding it to the soup. Next time I would add half the amount of lentils, mine came out more as a stew and less as a soup, I added a bit of water later on in the cooking in order to have some more broth. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
First time I've ever tried lentils . . . I loved this soup!!! I can't believe how easy it was too. Made it two days ago and have already shared the recipe with friends. I cooked up some breakfast sausage links and ate along side. Went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was just okay. The cumin makes the dish, but still, it was only 3 stars to my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Cheap, easy, and healthy - now that's my idea of a good recipe :). I had never made lentil soup before, and I doctored this recipe to suit my tastes and it turned out really well. I followed some reviewer suggestions and sauteed the onion with twice the amount of minced garlic before adding it to the soup. I also added chopped fresh spinach and carrots and some curry powder. This is going to become one of my regular recipes. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Pretty good recipe, but some of the ingredients in this recipe make it more of a chili than a lentil stew. I adjusted it a little by leaving out the cumin and tomato paste, and substituting a dash of red wine vinegar and some maggi seasoning... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirjam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States