Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This lentil soup tastes JUST like the one I fell in love with at Cosi (until they unfortunately changed the recipe for much worse), minus the red and green peppers! I started with a tablespoon of olive oil, and heated double the amount of garlic in it, plus a sprinkle of thyme, and sauteed the onion in the oil with 1 1/2 cups sliced carrots. I also substituted 1 1/2 cups of the broth with a 14 oz can of petite diced tomatoes (I like some chunks of tomato in the soup). Next time I will slightly decrease the lentils, and maybe add some red and green bell peppers for more color. Now I don't have to worry about losing my favorite soup forever because I found it :) Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I make this all the time and my kids love it. The main change I've made is to slice up a lemon and add it to the pot from the start. I find that it perks up the soup a bit. If I have fresh thyme on hand, I add about a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Great recipe! Simple and hearty with lots of flavor - perfect for a fall or winter evening - only addition was carrots and celery - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. I made it for a neighbor who is diabetic as well as undergoing radiation and chemo, as it is nutritious and not much in it that someone can object to. I added some celery salt and cut down on the cumin (about half) added a bay leaf, and did add salt and pepper to taste. I didn't have any carrots on hand or I would have put those in. Next time I probably would saute the onions and garlic so they didn't look so obvious in it. And I would probably make it in winter and not on an 85 degree summer day, like I did today. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was fantastic! I'd give it 6 stars if I could. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and doubled the garlic, sauteed the onions and garlic, added a little curry and 2 bay leaves, and used vegetable base and chicken bouillon instead of broth. This is going on my short list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This soup was great and was a big hit for my picky eaters- they even came back for seconds! I doubled the garlic and used a can of spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato paste. I also added some shredded carrots for extra color and flavor. I served it with warm pita and a salad. This is an easy soup to play around with to fit to what you have on hand as well as to suit to your own taste. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBOOKOUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Followed this recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This soup is quick, easy, very filling and a good healthy protein source! To make it even easier, I just throw all the ingredients into a crock pot at once, and cook on high for a few hours, until lentils are soft. I like to dress it up by adding a small dollop of sour cream and some shredded cheddar cheese to the top of each bowl, provide optional hot sauce, then serve with a crusty roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious, filling, and best of all: EASY! I love soups of all kinds, but I'm not necessarily a lentil kind of person....However, this really won me over! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yum! I made the following changes. I sauteed 1 tbsp garlic with the onion first, added half of a chicken breast, diced, until the chicken cooked. Then i added maybe 1/4 cup of white cooking wine and let that reduce a bit. I removed the chicken, put in the rest of the ingredients, cooked it according to the directions, and added the chicken at the end. I also added 1/2 tsp of curry powder, which I thought was a nice touch. Also, if you don't want your soup to be dull, rinse the lentils under lukewarm water till the water runs clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States