Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I would suggest a little longer cooking for softer lentils. For some reason, mine did not cook as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Good, but not amazing. Seemed to be missing something. A bit bland. Made a huge pot of soup, though! Here's a hint: if you're cooking it for vegetarians, substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth, or you'll look like a major doof. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Incredibly easy, very filling and extremely healthy recipe. We added some onion and carrot, along with some hot pepper flakes and wowee! Delicious! I will keep some of this made up for busy days where I have to be outdoors in the cold weather all day and have no time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rarehorses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Kind of boring and flavorless. Even with the alterations I made (carrots, a few bay leaves, more garlic, a jalapeno pepper, ground black pepper), it was decent at best. I had to add way more than the required amount of broth for it to become remotely soup-like. Giving it three stars because it may be something I return to. It does provide a good base upon which you can probably build a delicious dish. By the way, this recipe makes A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
As is, the soup is good but a bit bland. However, it's supposed to be quick and easy, and it was definately that. It is really a great base to make a more complex soup with too. For me, I wanted a bunch, so I added about 2c of rice and another 5 c of water with corrosponding boullion (used water and boullion instead of stock since I don't have it). Sauteed onion and garlic together, added more garlic, added a carrot and extra spices - season salt, pepper, some italian seasonings and crushed red pepper. Made a TON, enough for the week for lunch, and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
4 stars only because modifications were necessary. Salt and pepper, of course. Also added 3 carrots, chopped, and sautees in 1 tbsp olive oil with the onion and garlic. Float a slice of lemon on top, and add a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt, if you want. Delicious, nutritious, fast, and easy. Who could ask for anything more? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is a wonderful base soup. I just made it essentially as the recipe called for except I substituted the chicken for our ham bone leftover from Thanksgiving dinner. I like to make my own healthy, dry packaged mixes (you know, like rice-a-roni), and this is definitely a recipe I will convert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Changing the Cumin to Curry was the key for my family! I add a bit more garlic and use a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the paste. This recipe is on our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I love this soup. It is so easy to make, and you can add vegetables to your liking - I always add carrots and celery. Filling and healthy, this is a great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Took other reviews advice on adding carrots and sautéing the onions in a little olive oil first. Also used 3/4 teaspoon of garlic powder (sadly no fresh cloves in the house). And lastly had to use one cup of red lentils and one cup split peas since that's all I had on hand. Came out wonderfully and is the most filling soup ever. A great base to go off of, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States