Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
good - used it over rice but it could have used some heat or some other nuance flavoring to make it great. I'll experiment with it some more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My husband and I love putting in sliced Nathan beef dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make this recipe every cold season. I absolutely love this soup. the only thing I do to tweak it is I add sausage to it for extra flavor. The next day, after its had time to sit and is really thick I put the soup over rice. Amazing! And it's super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The basic soup recipe is really good. But I too added a few of my own things to give it more flavor. I added a little cilantro and shredded cheese on top before serving. You could also add a dollop of sour cream think that would be good. But I hate having to come up with good lunch meals. This is a cheap, easy alternative. I will add a small salad and will be a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've been making this for years now! I always use the whole can of tomato paste (because what would you do with the paste that remains??), add chopped carrots, and add whatever greens i have on hand (spinach, kale, etc.). This soup freezes great, so I always make a giant batch and stock my freezer with several containers of it for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this today after scouring through several recipe and am glad I chose it. The only thing I did differently was that I used tomato sauce instead of paste (all I had on hand) and I used 2 tsp cumin instead of 1 T. I also added some salt and a little pepper and it was marvelous. I kept enough water on it to keep it from burning, but cooked it thick to make it more like a stew and added a can of sliced carrots (drained) at the end like the picture showed. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great for people who don't always have an incredibly well-stocked kitchen. You can add most veggies and a variety of spices to this soup and it'll still be delicious. I recommend adding salt in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Added a diced carrot and celery stalk and used a whole 6 oz can of tomato paste. Wonderful soup in 45 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I followed the directions almost to a T. I left out the cumin and added three extra cloves of garlic which I sauteed with a spanish onion in EVOO before adding the other ingredients. I also added a very healthy amount of black pepper and increased the tomato paste to about 1/3 cup. By doing that, it is my own personal recipe that I've been using for years and I find it's flavor to be just delightful. Sometimes, I throw in a couple of chopped potatoes or I serve it with ditalini pasta. Just because a recipe has few ingredients, it does not mean that it lacks flavor! Ask Mark Bittman from the New York Times as this is his personal philosophy. Lastly, this recipe (w/o the cumin) is how lentils are prepared by many cooks in the mountainous region of Abbruzi in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States