Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this today after scouring through several recipe and am glad I chose it. The only thing I did differently was that I used tomato sauce instead of paste (all I had on hand) and I used 2 tsp cumin instead of 1 T. I also added some salt and a little pepper and it was marvelous. I kept enough water on it to keep it from burning, but cooked it thick to make it more like a stew and added a can of sliced carrots (drained) at the end like the picture showed. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great for people who don't always have an incredibly well-stocked kitchen. You can add most veggies and a variety of spices to this soup and it'll still be delicious. I recommend adding salt in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Added a diced carrot and celery stalk and used a whole 6 oz can of tomato paste. Wonderful soup in 45 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I followed the directions almost to a T. I left out the cumin and added three extra cloves of garlic which I sauteed with a spanish onion in EVOO before adding the other ingredients. I also added a very healthy amount of black pepper and increased the tomato paste to about 1/3 cup. By doing that, it is my own personal recipe that I've been using for years and I find it's flavor to be just delightful. Sometimes, I throw in a couple of chopped potatoes or I serve it with ditalini pasta. Just because a recipe has few ingredients, it does not mean that it lacks flavor! Ask Mark Bittman from the New York Times as this is his personal philosophy. Lastly, this recipe (w/o the cumin) is how lentils are prepared by many cooks in the mountainous region of Abbruzi in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I added carrots and a few dashes of Frank's Hot Sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This turned out really well. I have a few things I changed. When adding onions to soups I find my kids complain about the texture of them so I GRATE them into the oil first! You get all the flavor but without texture issues with picky people. Also added a bit of garlic. After that turns into a sizzling yummy paste I add chopped celery (3+ stalks) and 1 tomato. I used 2 5.5oz cans of V8 in place of paste, didn't have any on hand. Doubled the cumin. Added fresh cilantro. Added 1 cup dehydrated spinach (I add that to almost EVERYTHING! LoL). Added water as it cooked down. Next time I would add carrots, I didn't have any on hand this time. I would also cut back on cumin to about 1 1/2 T and add some chipotle tabasco sauce. Perfect amount of salt even with none added. Served with sprinkled grated parmesan cheese. Next time will also sprinkle fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I made it with vegetable broth to keep it vegetarian, it was very flavorful and hearty. I probably used about 1/2 cup of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Tasty, I had to substitute tomato sauce for the paste because it was all I had on hand. I threw in some fresh chopped spinach. I'm sure the soup will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very tasty. I added carrots, onion, and frozen chopped spinach, and it came out great! I did need to add quite a bit of extra liquid though, which meant I had a huge amount of soup. It freezes and reheats just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States