Lentil Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
good - used it over rice but it could have used some heat or some other nuance flavoring to make it great. I'll experiment with it some more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My husband and I love putting in sliced Nathan beef dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make this recipe every cold season. I absolutely love this soup. the only thing I do to tweak it is I add sausage to it for extra flavor. The next day, after its had time to sit and is really thick I put the soup over rice. Amazing! And it's super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The basic soup recipe is really good. But I too added a few of my own things to give it more flavor. I added a little cilantro and shredded cheese on top before serving. You could also add a dollop of sour cream think that would be good. But I hate having to come up with good lunch meals. This is a cheap, easy alternative. I will add a small salad and will be a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've been making this for years now! I always use the whole can of tomato paste (because what would you do with the paste that remains??), add chopped carrots, and add whatever greens i have on hand (spinach, kale, etc.). This soup freezes great, so I always make a giant batch and stock my freezer with several containers of it for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this today after scouring through several recipe and am glad I chose it. The only thing I did differently was that I used tomato sauce instead of paste (all I had on hand) and I used 2 tsp cumin instead of 1 T. I also added some salt and a little pepper and it was marvelous. I kept enough water on it to keep it from burning, but cooked it thick to make it more like a stew and added a can of sliced carrots (drained) at the end like the picture showed. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great for people who don't always have an incredibly well-stocked kitchen. You can add most veggies and a variety of spices to this soup and it'll still be delicious. I recommend adding salt in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Added a diced carrot and celery stalk and used a whole 6 oz can of tomato paste. Wonderful soup in 45 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I followed the directions almost to a T. I left out the cumin and added three extra cloves of garlic which I sauteed with a spanish onion in EVOO before adding the other ingredients. I also added a very healthy amount of black pepper and increased the tomato paste to about 1/3 cup. By doing that, it is my own personal recipe that I've been using for years and I find it's flavor to be just delightful. Sometimes, I throw in a couple of chopped potatoes or I serve it with ditalini pasta. Just because a recipe has few ingredients, it does not mean that it lacks flavor! Ask Mark Bittman from the New York Times as this is his personal philosophy. Lastly, this recipe (w/o the cumin) is how lentils are prepared by many cooks in the mountainous region of Abbruzi in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States