Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
It's a snap to make and just right on those cold rainy days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is great! It's a great low cal recipe as well. I added some low fat kilbasa to the soup to give it a little different flavor as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I think I seriously messed this recipe up. Will try again, but will add a few veggies to help give it a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Gooooood Soooooooup. This will be stocking my freezer very, very soon. I tweaked, too--try it with minced garlic and a good splash of hot sauce (I used Chipotle Tabasco).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was delicious! I used roasted garlic flavored tomato sauce and added a clove of garlic to the onions. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Simple and delicious! I'll probably mix up the seasoning a bit next time as it was a tad on the bland side, but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was a very tasty, hearty soup--turned out thicker, more like a stew. I didn't have the full 4 cups of beef broth so I substituted the difference (about 1/3 cup) with red wine, which added a nice richness to the soup. I also added three sliced gourmet chicken sausages at the end to make the soup a little heartier. Will make again--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This is AWESOME! I followed one of the reviewers suggestions and added one clove of garlic to it. I also threw in a little yellow mustard, and used veggie broth. I think you need more broth though, as the lentils soak quite a bit of it in as they cook. I bought a couple of extra cans of broth and added more as the soup thickened too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I am giving this a 5 star rating, with the following modifications: added 3 cloves minced garlic to the oil and onions while they cooked; used 2 cans beef broth (14oz. each) and 1 cup water; used the entire 8oz. can of tomato sauce; added about a cup of sliced baby carrots. Also, I did not add the tomato sauce or the Italian seasoning until the lentils were thoroughly cooked...oftentimes lentils do not cook completely when a tomato product is used at the start. And I personally did not add any salt or pepper. Really good, hearty and healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is one of my new favorites! After reading the reviews, I made the following changes/additions to the recipe. I sauteed garlic with the onion, used basil/garlic/oregano tomato sauce, added some chili powder and also hot italian turkey sausage. The flavor is wonderful and the soup very hearty! I'll be freezing portions as future meals. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States