Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Was very good. Simple and hearty. I will double the recipe next time as I like to make meals stretch for 2 nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a wonderful base for lentil soup, but I upped flavor and healthy ingredients as well a the servings to 12 to adjust for the small 1 lb pkg of lentils which contains about 2 cups. I then added 6 cloves garlic with the onion when the onion was half done to avoid burning the garlic, 1 lb Italian sausage, 1 pkg dry Italian dressing seasoning mix, a dash of red wine vinegar, chopped carrots and celery, 4 cups chopped fresh spinach and used my own plain chicken stock I always save in my freezer left over from simmering chicken for other uses. As suggested I added tomatoe sauce to taste after the lentils were cooked to avoid clowing the cooking time. I served with some crusty garlic whole grain bread. Since I increased the amount I planned to freeze leftovers for future meals but the family ate every bite and clammored for more. Its now a family favorite and I have to make two batches if I want to try to freeze some for nights when I don't have the time to cook, putting it from the freezer to low in the crockpot to have it hot and simmering by dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I give this 5 stars because it's easy, healthy and my 6 yr old and 13 yr old both liked it enough for "healthy" soup they eat it!! Per other suggestions, I used vegy broth instead of beef, I finely chopped up two carrots and added when I put the lentils in, and I doubled the amount of tomato sauce and didn't add it until the very end. Thank you for the recipe - I am adding to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great!! With the following changes: Added some garlic. Used vegetable broth instead of beef. Doubled the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This came out awesome! I’m sure the recipe is 5* as is but I did change the following based on reviews and my own personal preferences. Sautéed onions with 4 cloves garlic, added ½ cup shredded baby carrots & ½ cup finely chopped celery. Added 1/4 teaspoon mustard powder a pinch of cumin and a little cayenne pepper. Doubled the tomato sauce, and didn’t add tomato sauce till close to the end as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
First time I am making lentils--great recipe. I tweaked a bit as well; sauteed tablespoon of garlic with the onion, used an entire 8oz can of tomato sauce and used 6 cups of broth as well. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Woo hoo. Hits the spot. I did change the recipe a bit. I used split red lentils, 2 carrots, 2 boats of celery, 4 radishes, and 4 cloves of garlic because I didnt have any onions. I boiled 2 vegetable boulions in 4 cups of water ( I'm vegan) which gave a lot of flavor. Very good! I will make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I used chicken bouillon to water since I didn't have any broth on hand. I did have to use a little extra water for more of a soupy consistency. As another reviewer suggested, I added the tomato sauce much later to the cooking process so that the lentils would cook faster (I understand that it has something to do with the acidity). This tastes kind of like Progresso Lentil Soup only much better! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great recipe - easy to make and very popular. I scaled this up to cook for 72 people and it scaled perfectly. Everyone loved it (apart from a few who didn't like lentils!) Was a bit tomatoey for my taste (I used passata rather than tomato sauce - not sure if its the same thing) but if you loaded it with parmesan cheese it was fantastic. Served nearly 100 litres of it and it all got eaten! Only other change I made was to use veg stock rather than beef so it could be suitable for vegetarians. we've made it a few times since and one nice variant was to add a load of beef mince to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krone9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
this is a great recipe. i made it vegetarian by using veg stock instead of beef, and also found that a little extra broth was needed. also i added chopped carrots, chili powder, a dash of worcestershire sauce and a splash of red cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States