Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Very good. Could add polish sausage. Add dolop of sour cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My 1st ever attempt at making Lentil's. WOW - this soup is really good. I made 2 small changes ... veg broth to replace beef & Caribbean Jerk Seasoning to replace Italian Seasoning. Otherwise followed exactly. Very GOOD, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Fallowing some of the reviews, I added three garlic cloves to the onions, and also added a cup and a half of chopped baby carrots. Some of the reviews said that the soup didn't have enough broth, so I added a cup and a half more of broth. I waited about half an hour before putting in the seasoning and the tomato soup (didn't have any tomato sauce on hand). Didn't add any salt/pepper. Turned out pretty good! I'm sure the recipe would be just as tasty without the additions that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GabZ1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I love Lentil Soup! However, I leave out the beef broth, use Kielbasa (Polish sausage) cut into bite size slices and while the lentils and sausage are simmering in the pot I sauteé the onion in olive oil, put the cooked onion in the lentils and add 1/4 cup of spaghetti sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
We just had this for dinner tonight. I took everyone else's suggestions. I put 1# lentils, chopped onion, 1 lg carrot chopped, 2 stalks celery, fresh garlic chopped into a pan and added 6 cups of veg.broth made from Better than Bouillion plus 2 cups water, brought to boil then simmered for almost an hour. I also added some chilli powder, extra garlic granules, and cayenne pepper. The pepper was added at the end along with a small can of tomato sauce. I didn't measure the spices other than visually, maybe a 1/4 tsp cayenne and a 1 tsp chilli powder. We have enough left for one more family meal and two individual meals for lunches. This was very fast and easy to make and will definitely be making it again. Oh, I added a T. of sour cream to each bowl when it was served. Very GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I took the suggestions from the last reviewer. I also added spinich and didn't put in the italian seasoning. It turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
OK, I took great liberties with this recipe because I didn't feel like going to the store, and it turned out to be ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Instead of the beef broth and onions, I used a can of French onion soup and a can of water, and instead of the tomato sauce, I added a can of "Soup At Hand" (microwavable ready-to-eat) classic tomato soup. I also added a teaspoon of fennel seeds to the standard Italian seasonings and some red pepper flakes for a little spiciness. I also chopped up about 1/2 a cup each of celery and carrots and added it into the mix. The result was amazing--a rich, thick lentil soup with more flavor than most restaurant soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Fabulous base recipe. Even better if you doctor it up. I usually add a couple of chopped carrots, celery, and garlic cloves to saute with the onions. Then add some chopped smoked sausage at the end. I omit the italian seasoning if I add sausage. This has become my new favorite soup. Hearty and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Good flavor. I found that sour cream is an excellent topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This soup was so good! I also added garlic and a little bit of cayenne pepper powder because I like spice. My husband loves this and so does my 11 yo daughter. It's delicious and great for these winter months
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States