Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made this a few times. It needs tweaking; as it stands the flavor is just barely passable for me. Making a few changes regarding seasoning and adding more veggies (turning this into a Mexican inspired soup) and serving with quesadillas or tortilla chips is delicious. My picture will show brown lentils, pureed; the picture up currently appears to show red lentils, pureed. Let me stress that my 3-star rating does NOT indicate a bad recipe: it indicates a very nicely written, easy recipe with a short list of ingredients that bends itself easily to your tweak and changes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made lentils a million ways and THIS is delicious and easy. I bought beef broth on accident and so when I came here put in "Beef Broth and Lentils" and this recipe came up. Boy, am I glad it did! Alterations to this recipe: No Italian Seasoning (not a fan), no tomato sauce (substituted 1 can of diced tomatoes), and cayenne pepper and some Ms Dash. Easy, easy - nothing else. A little parmesean when served. Easy and delicious on a COLD January night! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very easy to make. I added 3 garlic cloves to the sautee, and some cut up celery along with the carrots. to make it vegetarian for my company I used organic vegetable broth. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Disappointing but salvageable. I used the entire 8 oz can of tomato sauce and increased the Italian seasoning significantly. I also added a couple cloves of garlic, ground chicken, and a couple pinches of red pepper flake. I used my immersion blender to blend about half of the mixture, which thickened it nicely. It turned out pretty good, but it still seemed liked it was missing something. I love lentils, but I don't think this is the lentil soup recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I had never had lentils before, but I had some in my cabinet so I figured I would try them. I added 1/2lb of pork sausage since I had that left over, some chopped garlic, and I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used pizza sauce and left out the italian seasoning. I also added some pasta and cheese to it. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was good but nothing special. I followed the recipe as written other then I used an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce. I also added garlic as others had suggested. Next time I would also cut down on the italian seasoning as I thought it was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I really loved this recipe. It was so simple, and it didn't require a lot of time at all. After reading some of the reviews I added 3 cloves of garlic and I didn't add the tomato sauce until halfway through the simmering process. I served it over whole wheat couscous. It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
VERY good!!! I was hungry and was scrownging in the kitchen to put something together...this is very easy and filling!I did what others said and sauted the onion with garlic; I also put some bacon and worcestershire to add some zip! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States