Lentil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great base recipe! I added some garlic to the onions as I sautéed them, and added a couple of handfuls of chopped carrots to the soup. Also used beef bullion instead of broth, as that's what I had on hand. Stirred in tomato sauce in last 10 minutes of cooking. Very flavorful--doesn't even really need salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very good. I modified as per some of the other reviews by cooking lentils first and then adding onion, garlic, a whole can tomato sauce - increased the Italian seasoning accordingly - and added diced carrots and spinach. I rarely ever make lentils but that will change now that I found this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Different than most lentil recipes in that it uses beef broth. It adds a different layer of flavor that we liked. Also, changed tomato sauce to 8 ounces. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good! Added garlic in the beginning and frozen spinach at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent lentil soup. I have been looking for a healthy soup like this. I tweaked it like some reviewers did by adding chili powder and cumin to taste. I think next time I will add a can of diced tomatoes instead of the sauce. Great winter soup with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This would be tasty as is, but is also good with these modifications: I added garlic and italian sausage, and used canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. One time we also added mushrooms, and that was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Five star because i used this as a base basically for making up a lentil soup recipe. I've never had lentil soup before, and I was very pleased with how it turned out. I would rate it in the top 5 soup recipes I've ever had. I did revise it to suit my own tastes. Also, I guessed at the measurements. i changed the beef broth to a half a packet of Ramen Noodle Soup's packet of seasoning that it comes with, mixed with water, and completely omitted the tomato sauce and italian seasoning. i then used some suggestions i found on here. cumin, bacon, garlic cloves, red potatoes, and after it was all simmered and done, i added some milk and some sour cream and served it with mozzerella cheese and corn tortilla chips. very very delicious. I will make this again and again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've made this 4 times already... I had to cut back on the broth because it ended up being too salty, but I love it. It's SO quick and easy and I almost always have the ingredients. It stores well in the fridge and is perfect on rainy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I omitted the tomato sauce and added garlic, celery, carrots, a potato and a leek. Hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made this a few times. It needs tweaking; as it stands the flavor is just barely passable for me. Making a few changes regarding seasoning and adding more veggies (turning this into a Mexican inspired soup) and serving with quesadillas or tortilla chips is delicious. My picture will show brown lentils, pureed; the picture up currently appears to show red lentils, pureed. Let me stress that my 3-star rating does NOT indicate a bad recipe: it indicates a very nicely written, easy recipe with a short list of ingredients that bends itself easily to your tweak and changes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States