Lentil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I liked the idea behind it but I did make several changes to suit my tastes. First of all, I prefer red lentils and only used them because I don't like the looks of brown lentils, so I put in 1 cup of red lentils. I started boiling the red lentils with the seasonings right away, minus the cloves and pepper. I then cut up 5 carrots because I didn't have any celery on hand. I also cut up a small onion. When I cut up the potatoe I made very small pieces. and added them and didn't bother mashing them. I added all of the root vegetables to the red lentil pot and let them boil for 45 minutes. And then because we like things a little creamier in our house, I heated up 1/4 cup milk, 2 TBSP margarine, melted them together and then added 1/8 c of flour and mixed it all together to make a little white gravy. I poured that into the pot when all of the vegetables were soft, about 25 minutes. It just made it a little creamier. It turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this today. It is easy and tastes really good. I liked it with a whole large onion chopped and I did add 3-4 cups more water, but did so after adding carrots, onions, celery and the mashed potatoes. BTW, I cooked the potatoes in a separate pan and mashed them in that pan, then added them. I found the directions strange on this aspect. Also, the onions are left out of the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made a mistake and used ground cloves ( 3/4 teaspoon) and left it in. I loved it. Thank you William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked the concept, but mine turned out very thick, like mashed potatoes with some lentils thrown in. Also, the color was not very appetizing, kind of a greyish-brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Like other reviewers, I loved this recipe but since I changed it, I only gave it 4 stars. This recipe can be simplified quite a bit by just throwing all of the ingredients in at the beginning. I cut the potatoes in bite size pieces and didn't mash them. I didn't have any celery, so I just added a bit more carrot and some dried onion flakes. And since I only had 1 T. of chicken bouillon so I added some garlic powder. Oh, and I used about 6 cups of water. Brought it to a boil, then simmered uncovered for about 25-30 minutes. I served it with some freshly baked multigrain bread. Reminded me of stew. Loved the addition of the clove flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! As a college student, I don't have much time to cook. The flavors blended together perfectly. I used 8 total cups of water. 4 cups were broth and 4 cups were water. I also added some curry and garlic for extra flavor. Was very filling and I'm so excited to have leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love it! I add more carrots and more potatoes but it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good soup. Right, onions aren't on the ingredient list but in the directions. That's okay, think we figure it out just fine. I doubled up on the carrots and celery, because we like them. I only had brown lentils. I did not have cloves. Curious about what flavor that would add. I did need to add water, 10 cups total. My only question was if I was to cover the pot? I did for a while and then took the lid off in the end. Yes, I would make it again. Love that it is low in calories, cholesterol and fat! Thank you William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The recipe left out the ingredient of onion and mentioned it in the instructions. I added half of a chopped onion. I did need more water as others stated. The combination of the mashed potatoes with the lentils made this a very thick soup, so it would be up to your own preference as to how thick you want it. Also, I felt I should've cooked the potatoes separately because my lentils were already done cooking by the time the potatoes were tender. I left out the salt. You might want to taste test when adding the chicken bullion and add gradually. Overall, it was a decent and thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Oops, forgot to rinse lentils ahead of time but didn't seem to make a difference. Used 1 1/2 cups of brown lentils to 10 cups water (couldn't find red lentils). When lentils were relatively soft, added the potatoes and soon after the small onion (onion is not listed in the ingredients), carrot and celery. Did not use bullion cubes but added garlic salt to taste. Mashed the potatoes and a small amount of the lentils which added bulk to the soup. Also added some garlic to the soup though next time will add it earlier. Did not pay attention to time, just went by taste and feel. Did not take that long to make. Will make again. Was very good but only rated it four stars because I made a lot of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States