Lentil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I don't usually give recipes 5 stars if I tweaked it, but this was just so good that I'm giving in on this one. I had no celery (don't like it anyway), so I skipped it and added an extra carrot. I also didn't have any chicken bullion or vegetable stock, so I just added extra water and extra pepper as well. Then after it was all done and mixed up together, I added a small can of evaporated milk. The combination of the cloves and pepper was delicious. This was fast (I put the lentils, carrots, and onion all together at once, then cooked the potatoes separately) and easy and already look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Like everyone else, I had to add tons more water during cooking, and it was done in about half the estimated time. Also, I halved this recipe for the two of us thinking there would be leftovers for another meal, but it made BARELY 3 servings. Next time I will make the entire batch to get 2 meals. I used a generous sprinkling of dried minced onion. The soup was thick and flavorful, I would definitely recommend trying it - just be sure to watch the water closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This was a very tasty lentil soup- just a few adjustements. 1/2 of an onion, double the water to 8 cups, and I just left the potatoes in and never mashed them. It tasted great! Next time, I think I will leave out the carrots and add an extra stalk of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
awesome. I changed it just a little I added an onion. used 4 cups of chicken broth, and 4 cups of water. I did not mash the potatoes just diced them. I threw eveything into the pot all at once. very delicous a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
While not a pretty soup, was very tasty and satisfying. I have never put mashed potatoes in a soup before, but I thought it was a great addition. I added an onion and 2 cloves of garlic, and used a small amount of powdered cloves instead of whole cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This soup was AMAZING. I've been looking for a good lentil soup recipe for a long time, and I've finally found it. I omitted the celery and added two tablespoons of minced onion. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was good, though I didn't follow it exactly. I didn't have any carrots, so I upped the celery and added onion and garlic. I also added a tablespoon of yellow curry powder and used vegetable broth. I found that I had to add a lot of water to the lentils as they cooked. I also didn't have real potatoes, so I ended up adding some potato flakes to thicken up the soup a bit. At the end I added a splash of balsamic vinegar. I would reccomend some parmesan cheese and maybe some spinach added to this, but overall it was good. My husband and my 3 year old also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I never made or ate lentil soup but my husband wanted it so i used this recipe. I thought it tasted wonderful but never had eaten it before-i didnt know how it was supposed to taste. So i had my husband try it because he has no problem telling me his honest opinion. He loved it and said he wouldnt change a thing. I did have to add a few more cups of water as it was cooking but other than that-I wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was very pleased with the way this turned out! I ran across this recipe as I used the "ingredient search" tool. I was out of onions, but wanted to use the bag of lentils I had. (I couldn't imagine a good lentil soup recipe without onions!) As it turns out, my husband had to go to the hardware store while I was cooking so he was nice enough to pick up some onions, which were a wonderful addition. (I had planned on using onion powder for flavoring.) I will definately agree with the other reviews...it needed a lot more water. Just keep you eye on it and add as needed. I also added a bay leaf for seasoning and a shake of garam masala. I was a bit wary of adding mashed potatoes...but I used about 4 small red ones. It was great! I will definately make this again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Excellent, with a hint of awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avia16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States