Lentil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
awesome. I changed it just a little I added an onion. used 4 cups of chicken broth, and 4 cups of water. I did not mash the potatoes just diced them. I threw eveything into the pot all at once. very delicous a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was a very good and very easy recipe. Like other reviewers mentioned, youo do need to continue to add water. I think I added about three extra cups by the time it was all finished, along with a little more boullion powder. I thought it was very good, but my nieces wouldn't touch it because they said it was ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This soup was AMAZING. I've been looking for a good lentil soup recipe for a long time, and I've finally found it. I omitted the celery and added two tablespoons of minced onion. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Like everyone else, I had to add tons more water during cooking, and it was done in about half the estimated time. Also, I halved this recipe for the two of us thinking there would be leftovers for another meal, but it made BARELY 3 servings. Next time I will make the entire batch to get 2 meals. I used a generous sprinkling of dried minced onion. The soup was thick and flavorful, I would definitely recommend trying it - just be sure to watch the water closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Hi. I tried the soup today. Very good. I did add the 1/2 cup chopped onion as suggested. I also used 8 cups chicken broth. This was a little thin so next time I will use 6 cups. Plus I like shortcuts so I put everything but the potatoes in at the beginning and it was ready in about 30 minutes. I then added left over mashed potatoes from the night before. Next time I will try a little ground sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This was a very tasty lentil soup- just a few adjustements. 1/2 of an onion, double the water to 8 cups, and I just left the potatoes in and never mashed them. It tasted great! Next time, I think I will leave out the carrots and add an extra stalk of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Oops, the ingredients list apparently left out the onions. I chopped a half and added it-- quite a tastey soup, especially for lentil-lovers. Agreed with the previous reviewer that it is very thick, even after doubling the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
The first time I made this, it burnt on the bottom of the pan - 4 cups of water was just not enough. The second time, I did a better job of monitoring the progress, and added water at times. It still turned out very thick (which was okay with us). I also omitted the celery, and I think I may omit the carrot next time too. The taste of the soup, when done (and not burned) was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENJOYBEING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warren, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States