Lentil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
A wonderful lentil soup recipe! I agree with other reviewers that more liquid is needed. The second time I made it I added 3 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayre1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I love lentils but my husband never ate them until we got married. This is one of the few lentil dishes he really likes. The bonus is that my kids (ages 3, 5, 9 & 13) all really like it too. This last time I made it, I didn't have any celery so added onions and more carrots. I also added 4 pieces of cooked bacon, crumbled, and a no-salt seasoning blend. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My husband said this dish was one of the best ones I ever made! He always says that my dishes need more seasoning, but he loved the flavor of this soup! I also had to add extra water and it took a little time to simmer, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I thought this soup had a good blend of flavors and kind of a unique taste. I only had one type of lentil so I used that and then added extra water and a few sprinkles of garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I don't usually give recipes 5 stars if I tweaked it, but this was just so good that I'm giving in on this one. I had no celery (don't like it anyway), so I skipped it and added an extra carrot. I also didn't have any chicken bullion or vegetable stock, so I just added extra water and extra pepper as well. Then after it was all done and mixed up together, I added a small can of evaporated milk. The combination of the cloves and pepper was delicious. This was fast (I put the lentils, carrots, and onion all together at once, then cooked the potatoes separately) and easy and already look forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was good, though I didn't follow it exactly. I didn't have any carrots, so I upped the celery and added onion and garlic. I also added a tablespoon of yellow curry powder and used vegetable broth. I found that I had to add a lot of water to the lentils as they cooked. I also didn't have real potatoes, so I ended up adding some potato flakes to thicken up the soup a bit. At the end I added a splash of balsamic vinegar. I would reccomend some parmesan cheese and maybe some spinach added to this, but overall it was good. My husband and my 3 year old also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was very pleased with the way this turned out! I ran across this recipe as I used the "ingredient search" tool. I was out of onions, but wanted to use the bag of lentils I had. (I couldn't imagine a good lentil soup recipe without onions!) As it turns out, my husband had to go to the hardware store while I was cooking so he was nice enough to pick up some onions, which were a wonderful addition. (I had planned on using onion powder for flavoring.) I will definately agree with the other reviews...it needed a lot more water. Just keep you eye on it and add as needed. I also added a bay leaf for seasoning and a shake of garam masala. I was a bit wary of adding mashed potatoes...but I used about 4 small red ones. It was great! I will definately make this again and again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I did not add pasta because I did not have any, however I will try again with pasta! My family loved this recipe. I used spicy sausage but it is flavorful enought to use regular sausage. I will definately keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
i added mushroom, a few more spices twice the water and accidentally (don't ask) a can of vegetarian baked beans. i left everything "whole," but cooked it long enough to mash on its own. it turned out awesome. i'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was a pleasant experience for my first taste of lentil soup. I knew they were good for me but was never brave to try them. I used 1.5 cups veggie broth instead of chicken broth and 6.5 cups of water after reading the reviews. I also used a cup of diced yams since I was all out of potatoes--it was great with the yams! I did kind of combine this recipe with Lentil Soup III by Molly and added cumin instead of cloves (I'm not a fan of cloves) and 1/8 c. of tomato paste. I think I'll try it with cloves to see what it's like next time. Oh, and once the lentils started boiling, I add the rest of the ingredients and didn't mash the yams--the soup cooked in plenty of time--next time I'll used leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States