Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
If I could I can put more stars. This is the best vegetarian dish, very tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I improvised a little with this recipe and it still turned out great. Grocery store was out of celery so I put a little celery seed in it. To be efficient and use all of what I opened, I used a full bag (2 cups) of lentils, a little extra chicken stock (1 box and 1 can), and a little less tomatoes (2 cans; also used diced instead of crushed). I also added smoked roast that we had in the freezer from when our freezer quit and we were trying to preserve the meat. It was a great addition. I just happened to serve this to my husband and some of his fellow farmers on a day the local cafe was closed due to the snow, and they approved. For those of you who know farmers, they tend to enjoy hearty meals. My version turned out heartier than the picture implied, with the chunks of tomatoes and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was a great soup! The only thing I changed was white wine for red, my daughter and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good soup. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Would have given the recipe 5 stars but I did make changes. Doubled the amount of lentil beans, garlic and paprika (used smoked paprika) and also added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. Since my husband is on a very low salt diet, I did not add any salt and used homemade chicken stock that I had made with no added salt. To give the soup a less acidic taste and make it more flavorful, I added 2 teaspoons of sugar. I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty the soup turned out, especially since it was basically salt-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Hearty, Yummy. The wine and paprika really gives the flavor extra depth. Served it with crusty bread and a side salad. I served it when I had my Mom and Brother over for dinner one night. Everyone, even the kids loved it. Sent my Mom and Bro home with leftovers. Kids have already requested it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I liked it. Unfortunately no one else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delish!!! I used red wine and browned the onion in butter. Yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TabbyKakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watonga, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
An amazing soup just the way it is! I have made this soup at least 10 times and have never soaked the lentils first - you're cooking it for an hour so they get plenty cooked in that time. A definite go-to soup for me and my family now. Plus it's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I didn't use the wine or the bay leaves, and only used 1 cup of tomatoes. I also added a little cumin. This soup was really great! It was my first time cooking and eating lentils (i used small black ones), and I am so happy that I came across a really good recipe like this one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States