Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Sooooo good. Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Both my husband and daughter (age 10) really liked this dish. The flavors blended so well that my daughter even ate the onion and tomatoes (which she usually picks out). And it is very filling. My husband was full off of one bowl. We added a dash of cajun seasoning and it tasted great! Such a nutritious and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Thank you, Gabriella, for this wonderful soup recipe! I left out the wine and replaced the 7 cups of chicken broth with 2 cups of organic "no-chicken" chicken broth and 5 cups of veggie broth to make this a vegetarian dish. No reason for the broth proportions-that's what I had on hand. I wanted to use up a few things sitting around so I added a chopped red pepper, 3/4 C. UNCOOKED brown basmati rice, washed and soaked, a bit of crushed dried rosemary, and about a tablespoon or two of chopped fresh mint leaves. The rice gave it thickness, which I like. For an extra bit-serve spooned over a buttery toasted piece of garlic bread, or two. Hearty and healthy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
My husband was born in Italy and we have been making Lentil soup for years. We loved this version better then what we have been making. It had so much flavor. And I used fennel instead of the celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this soup yesterday. The entire kitchen smelled wonderful although I changed it a bit. Instead of parsely, I used 1/2 bag fresh spinach chopped. Then instead of chicken stock, I used about 5 cups water and 2 packets of low sodium chicken boulion (add water while cooking if needed). I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I only used 1 large can of tomatoes in juice and pureed in blender. Then added 2 pinches of diced, dried rosemary. Finally, pureed 1/2 the soup and combined. Today I served with homemade bread and it was wonderful!! The wine absolutely made the soup! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very good! This was my last attempt to make something delicious with lentils and this is by far the best lentil soup I've ever had. I love the crunchy parts of celery and carrots. I cut it in half for dinner for two and still had leftovers. I loved the flavor the white wine gave--I used Riesling. And I didn't use parsley because I had none, and the soup was still delicious! I will definitely be making this again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanelnb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a delicious Lentil soup! My husband commented several times about how good it tasted. I would recommend to others. We did make a few changes however to the recipe because of personal preference. Because we don't cook with alcohol, I substituted the white wine for 3/4 cup more chicken stock. I also grated the onion instead of chopping because our toddlers won't eat chunky veggies in their soup, and I added about two extra cups more lentils then the recipe called for. I think the soup turned out perfectly with out alterations. Thank you Gabriella for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This soup was absolutely delicious and very easy to make! I did make some adjustments, as follows: Instead of 2 large onions cubed, I diced up 1/4 of an onion. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I diluted 1/4 white wine vinegar in 3/4 of water. As well I sliced up half of a zucchini! Let a poster has said in an earlier review this is MUCH better the second day!! PS My meat loving husband went crazy for it, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison Ayla

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I added ham, and held the salt since ham and parmesan cheese are heavily salted foods. I served this with rice. Either my family was very hungry, or this was a really good soup, because they had seconds! I gave it 4 stars because I didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States