Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It was good but next time I will use less basil. Too much of it made it taste sweet and I like my lentil soup very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe. Made a few changes: -smoked paprika (instead of regular) -a few sprigs of fresh thyme added the last ten minutes of cooking along with about 1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley for aromatics - triple the garlic - double the salt and pepper (I used 50/50 fresh groud white and black pepper) - add about three tbsp butter to the pot to enhance flavor - after cooking the soup for one hour, turn stove to lowest simmer and let cook another 30 minutes so all the flavors can merge and settle - 1 heaping tbsp tomato paste really bolsters the tomato element and provides a little thickness to the soup - Finally, I took the finished product and blended it on medium for about 45 seconds. I like the soup both ways, but to make a more Middle-Eastern version go blended. It makes a creamy and very, very tasty soup. Top with shaved parmesean, a small sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley, and a pinch of the smoke paprika. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Very different from the traditional lentil soup. Nice and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this today and it is delicious. So full of flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I will no longer make lentils plain as before. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is an amazing soup! I added more lentils and chicken stock, as well. I also used ground white pepper instead of the black, adding a dash of cayenne and rosemary for the aroma and a little more kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Sooooo good. Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Both my husband and daughter (age 10) really liked this dish. The flavors blended so well that my daughter even ate the onion and tomatoes (which she usually picks out). And it is very filling. My husband was full off of one bowl. We added a dash of cajun seasoning and it tasted great! Such a nutritious and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Thank you, Gabriella, for this wonderful soup recipe! I left out the wine and replaced the 7 cups of chicken broth with 2 cups of organic "no-chicken" chicken broth and 5 cups of veggie broth to make this a vegetarian dish. No reason for the broth proportions-that's what I had on hand. I wanted to use up a few things sitting around so I added a chopped red pepper, 3/4 C. UNCOOKED brown basmati rice, washed and soaked, a bit of crushed dried rosemary, and about a tablespoon or two of chopped fresh mint leaves. The rice gave it thickness, which I like. For an extra bit-serve spooned over a buttery toasted piece of garlic bread, or two. Hearty and healthy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
My husband was born in Italy and we have been making Lentil soup for years. We loved this version better then what we have been making. It had so much flavor. And I used fennel instead of the celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this soup yesterday. The entire kitchen smelled wonderful although I changed it a bit. Instead of parsely, I used 1/2 bag fresh spinach chopped. Then instead of chicken stock, I used about 5 cups water and 2 packets of low sodium chicken boulion (add water while cooking if needed). I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I only used 1 large can of tomatoes in juice and pureed in blender. Then added 2 pinches of diced, dried rosemary. Finally, pureed 1/2 the soup and combined. Today I served with homemade bread and it was wonderful!! The wine absolutely made the soup! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States