Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mikeysmom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made a few tweaks (red instead of white wine, added ham bone and a little bacon and used the bacon fat with a little butter and olive oil to saute the veggies in, used a little more lentils and added some thyme and fresh spinach, used 3 reg sized cans stewed tomatoes that I hand squeezed in a bowl before adding and added a tablespoon or 2 of tomato paste to the veggies after they sautéed before I added the liquids), and this was AMAZING! It smells fabulous cooking! First time I've made a soup with lentils and it was so easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikeysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I added a handful of red quinoa and didn't have white wine! It was a hit with my 9 year old which says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Did not use celery, tomatoes or cheese but this was still quite good. Had an excellent flavor from the wine that was unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Writing this as I enjoy my second bowl. This is excellent! I followed the directions as written and I think it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added more lentils and some cumin. YUM! This is a great recipe! KIDS LOVE IT! I did puree half of it then mixed it back in. I made it seem more like "Madres Lentils" brand. I do love this flavor more though! You must try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I thought this recipe was great but the only thing I changed was 3/4 cup lentils and 3/4 cup barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Lentil soup is a hearty cold weather soup. I modified this simple recipe by adding 1/4 cup uncooked quinoa (makes this a complete protein and does not affect the flavor), 16 ounces of Polish kielbasa sausage thinly sliced. A real time-saver is using classic mirepoix (aromatics like celery, carrots and onions) which some grocers carry already prepped in the frozen vegetables section. Lentils don't need to be pre-soaked, but a longer simmering at a low to medium heat will reduce the soup and caramelize the flavors. If you have access to fresh, local heirloom tomatoes utilize those instead of the canned type. I usually grow a few Black Krim tomatoes and freeze them for just this purpose. Also, adding a drop or two of liquid smoke will deepen the flavor of this soup if you wish to omit meat, and it will enhance the flavors of whatever you are using. Great recipe and easily modified!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I didn't love this soup. I felt the tomato taste was really dominant. When I make lentil soup, I like the lentils to be the dominate flavor or texture. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe. I didn't have celery and thought the bay leaf would have been too strong. Either way, I had to add at least an additional 2 cups of water as it simmered off. I added a couple of other seasonings, but there was just a bit too much tomatoes giving it more of an Italian soup flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum!! So good on a cold snowy day. The whole family loved this soup, even the kids. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good soup. I have never made a lentil soup before, but this one was delicious. Took another reviewer's suggestion and added some cooked brown rice, and this was a good addition. Really thick soup...and I fully recommend the fresh parmesan as garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States