Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I added a handful of red quinoa and didn't have white wine! It was a hit with my 9 year old which says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Did not use celery, tomatoes or cheese but this was still quite good. Had an excellent flavor from the wine that was unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Writing this as I enjoy my second bowl. This is excellent! I followed the directions as written and I think it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added more lentils and some cumin. YUM! This is a great recipe! KIDS LOVE IT! I did puree half of it then mixed it back in. I made it seem more like "Madres Lentils" brand. I do love this flavor more though! You must try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I thought this recipe was great but the only thing I changed was 3/4 cup lentils and 3/4 cup barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Lentil soup is a hearty cold weather soup. I modified this simple recipe by adding 1/4 cup uncooked quinoa (makes this a complete protein and does not affect the flavor), 16 ounces of Polish kielbasa sausage thinly sliced. A real time-saver is using classic mirepoix (aromatics like celery, carrots and onions) which some grocers carry already prepped in the frozen vegetables section. Lentils don't need to be pre-soaked, but a longer simmering at a low to medium heat will reduce the soup and caramelize the flavors. If you have access to fresh, local heirloom tomatoes utilize those instead of the canned type. I usually grow a few Black Krim tomatoes and freeze them for just this purpose. Also, adding a drop or two of liquid smoke will deepen the flavor of this soup if you wish to omit meat, and it will enhance the flavors of whatever you are using. Great recipe and easily modified!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I didn't love this soup. I felt the tomato taste was really dominant. When I make lentil soup, I like the lentils to be the dominate flavor or texture. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe. I didn't have celery and thought the bay leaf would have been too strong. Either way, I had to add at least an additional 2 cups of water as it simmered off. I added a couple of other seasonings, but there was just a bit too much tomatoes giving it more of an Italian soup flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum!! So good on a cold snowy day. The whole family loved this soup, even the kids. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good soup. I have never made a lentil soup before, but this one was delicious. Took another reviewer's suggestion and added some cooked brown rice, and this was a good addition. Really thick soup...and I fully recommend the fresh parmesan as garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe. I used some left over french onion soup and chicken broth and increased the garlic. I didn't pre-soak the lentils because they cook quickly and really don't need soaking (like split peas). This recipe will be a staple for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States