Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
One more recipe that was wonderful for my family. They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This soup is fantastic! The only alterations I made was to double the carrots and celery (I like a thick lentil soup) and up the garlic to two tablespoons. Perfect for a windy winter afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious, simple and did I say delicious! Only changes I made was add about one tsp of paprika instead of half and I chopped a bunch of cilantro and stirred that in once it was done cooking. Thank YOu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made this a few nights ago & it was FANTASTIC!! Followed the recipe in all aspects except I used probably double the amount of lentils. But this is just because I like a really thick lentil soup (just the way our German neighbor used to make it). I also added some turkey keilbasa sausage cut up real small wihich I cooked with the vegetables. This is a wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Inexpensive, healthy and very good, though it's the first lentil soup recipe I've tried so I don't really have anything to compare it to. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I've been trying to make Lentil Soup like my aunt's for years and this recipe finally helped me do it! The soup was sooo flavorful! I just made a few adjustments by shredding the carrots and celery, and added cummin, cayanne pepper, and seasonall. I also left out the wine and cheese. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Mother in law approved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a really, really delicious soup! I made a couple of changes to the recipe...1 1/2 cups of lentils seemed like a lot, and I only had about 3/4 cup to 1 cup, so I just used all that I had. It probably could have used more, so next time I make this, I'm going to try about 1 1/4 cups of lentils. I also skipped the soaking part, but cooked the lentils in the broth and vegetable mixture for about 10 minutes before adding the tomatoes, because the acid in the tomatoes slows the cooking of the lentils, and I don't care for hard lentils in my soup. I also skipped the wine in the recipe, and used another 3/4 cup of chicken broth instead. Other than that, I made the soup exactly as written, and was very pleased with the results. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a really good recipe. I've never made lentil soup - usually just eat the canned kind - and this was so much better. I changed a few things: added 2 tbsp lemon juice, 3 tbsp cilantro, and 2 tbsp tomato paste. I also used more garlic for my taste and added chili powder and cumin. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I think really much better the 2nd day as someone else stated. This time I used the immersion blender to roughtly puree and it was much better. It could use more cooking time, my lentils were still a little crunchy (also the celery) despite following instructions. Next time will cook longer. Otherwise good hearty winter night soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States