Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious! I added bacon and I used only 4 cups of chicken broth. I served over rice. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slgilde
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was my first attempt at making Lentil soup and it was a hit, even my fussy teenaged son enjoyed it. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used the entire bag of lentils which after soaking was about 4 -5 cups. I also added a couple of diced chicken sausages after the onions and eliminated the paprika because the sausages are loaded with spicy peppers. Added no extra salt as I thought there was plenty in the chicken stock & crushed tomatoes. I've added a picture and agree with the other reviews that stated this was even better the next day. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slgilde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and love it. It is easy to make a double batch and keep half in the freezer. Definitely freezes well. I have also discovered that if you are using store bought chicken stock (who has time to make their own??), it tastes better to use the unsalted kind. Otherwise, the soup tastes way to acidic. If you are using a higher sodium stock you would be safe to eliminate the salt called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Our favorite lentil soup recipe. I add extra carrots, celery, garlic, and paprika. I also use red lentils and they are softer so no need to soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
One more recipe that was wonderful for my family. They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This soup is fantastic! The only alterations I made was to double the carrots and celery (I like a thick lentil soup) and up the garlic to two tablespoons. Perfect for a windy winter afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Delicious, simple and did I say delicious! Only changes I made was add about one tsp of paprika instead of half and I chopped a bunch of cilantro and stirred that in once it was done cooking. Thank YOu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made this a few nights ago & it was FANTASTIC!! Followed the recipe in all aspects except I used probably double the amount of lentils. But this is just because I like a really thick lentil soup (just the way our German neighbor used to make it). I also added some turkey keilbasa sausage cut up real small wihich I cooked with the vegetables. This is a wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Inexpensive, healthy and very good, though it's the first lentil soup recipe I've tried so I don't really have anything to compare it to. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I've been trying to make Lentil Soup like my aunt's for years and this recipe finally helped me do it! The soup was sooo flavorful! I just made a few adjustments by shredding the carrots and celery, and added cummin, cayanne pepper, and seasonall. I also left out the wine and cheese. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States