Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This soup is a great base. I used 1/2 can of tomatoes sauce and 1 diced tomato. The soup is very fresh but I like earthier soups so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cumin and 1 1/2 teaspoons of coriander to balance. I also added about 1/2/ cup more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I ate it for a week till it was all gone... Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A good base, but would be better with some fixing up. I hope to try adding ham the next time, and/or more paprika for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It's nothing more than a tomato-based vegetable soup with lentils in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachwomanfw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was delicious. I ran out of tomatoes, so I didn't have the full 3 1/2 cups needed. I also added a LOT more Hungarian Paprika than 1/2 a teaspoon. I ended up freezing it in individual servings, which has worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've made this several times and I could eat it every day! Instead of chopping all the veggies, I use a mixed bag or two of frozen diced carrots, onion, and celery to save time. I've never used the wine because I never have any, so I just increase the broth (and omit the extra salt, which isn't necessary if you're using broth). About 10 minutes before it's done, I add 1/2 - 1 cup of quick cook barley to make it thicker and healthier. Also, I've added some diced hot peppers from our garden and it gives it a nice kick if you like spicy food. This is my forever recipe for lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful vegan fare! And much more filling that I expected. I'll be making this again when my vegetarian friends visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was phenomenal! Only change I made was that I didn't add the tomatoes or the wine until I was sure that the lentils were tender. I wasn't sure if lentils do what beans do and not become tender if exposed to the acids in tomatoes or wine so I wasn't taking any chances with crunchy lentils! This freezes really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious! Used veggie broth instead of chicken, but otherwise follwed the recipe. The cooking time was a bit off, and it could have used another 15 minutes or so of simmering. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
So good.I sauted the onion, garlic, carrots, and celery and put it in the crock pot on high for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States