Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ashlie Pollock
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This soup is absolutely delicious!!! I added a yellow squash, and some Brussel sprouts. I quartered the small Brussel sprouts and probably only added like 6 for a 12 serving pot. I will definitely be making this again. I couldn't stop eating it lol. I did less carrots but only because I was adding in the other veggies. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlie Pollock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
not so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This soup is delicious! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cobb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I didn't presoak my lentils at all. The only thing was that for me, this turned out like more of a stew than a soup. It could have been something I did though I followed the directions. It was still really good and awesome for my husbands diet. We did top it with frozen yogurt and green onions. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
After reading many reviews, I prepared this recipe today with some of the changes reviewers suggested and added a few of my own. I added 1 link (I only had one) of Cajun style Andouille sausage, 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes and 1 teaspoon of Turmeric. I also used red wine instead of white, left out the carrots, used 2(14.5) cans of stewed tomatoes, 1(14.5) can of petite diced tomatoes, and 1(8 oz.) can of tomato sauce. The finished soup had great taste, nice body, and a bit of a kick. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I made this a couple of days ago and I think it's a good base recipe. I did make a lot of changes. I used more broth, one more rib of celery, balsamic vinegar and red wine instead of the white wine. I used only one bay leaf (it had a strong bay leaf taste, so I definitely wouldn't use two). I doubled the garlic, added a dash of cumin, a couple of tablespoons of hot sauce, and eliminated the carrots and parsley because I don't like them. I used a frozen pepper/onion blend instead of fresh onions and I didn't cook any of the vegetables first. I just put all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook on high for about 5 hours and low for another 2. I didn't have to add any additional liquid because I like my soup thick. If you like a thinner soup, you might have to add more broth or water. I will say that if you don't like tomato based soups, you will NOT like this unless you make changes. The crushed tomatoes and bay leaf make it remind me of how spaghetti sauce tastes. The main reason it didn't get 5 stars is because it still seemed like it was missing something. Next time I will add some ground beef or stew meat and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This soup is so good. I didn't have the wine so I just added more broth and it still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add turkey italian sausage for more added flavor and I didn't have the canned tomatoes so I added a 1 fresh and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I read through the reviews and took some of the advice. I added the crushed tomatoes and wine at the end so that the lentils would cook without soaking first. I also didn't measure my lentils and just used an entire bag. As other reviewers mentioned, it is MUCH better the next day. We liked it the first day but LOVED it the second and third day. This recipe made it into permanent rotation here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love it! I didn't make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States