Lentil Salad with a Persian Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never been a big fan of lentils, but in heart of being healthier, am looking for healthier ideas. This recipe was very good. I used dry green lentil cooked to package specifications and I think I made too much but adjusted the ingredients to compensate. I added much more seasoning than listed (that is, tarragon, mint, and other Mediterranean spices) and also added seasoned rice wine vinegar in addition to the apple cider vinegar. I would make this salad frequently! Even my husband, who likes lentils less than I, liked this salad. I believe this recipe could be tweaked to any taste. I highly recommend trying this recipe, even if you don't think you like lentils. Like me, you might be surprised. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was SO GOOD!! If I'd had leftovers I would've eaten it for breakfast. I used cooked dried lentils and red wine vinegar and totally forgot to add oil, but I didn't miss it (and I like oil!) thinking I might add pita chips next time, like fattoush...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was really good. I drained off the excess dressing before I served it and added finely chopped mint (like other reviewers had suggested). The mint was a great additional and I will include it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent use of fresh cucumbers from my garden. Next time, I might add garbanzo beans and some kalamata olives to it for a little more flair. Nice summer salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I loved this refreshing salad!!! It was quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I have to admit to a couple of changes due to dietary requirements. I did not use canned lentils..I cooked my own to the tenderness I prefer and I used scallions instead of red onions. This is a perfect summer salad..great for picnics and suitable for a vegan or gluten free diet..I will make this again and again.. maybe trying different salad dressings each time.. I'm a bit adventuresome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I didn't have any mint available and ended up using cilantro, it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Scudder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
A very tasty salad. I LOVE persian food and I love lentils, so I was excited to try this combo. I went with NOOSH's suggestion to add fresh mint. I wasn't sure how much to add so at first I minced about 7-8 mint leaves. It gave just a slight hint of flavor (barely noticeable), so I added another 7-8 leaves and it was perfect! I highly recommend this addition. It gives the salad such a fresh flavor. I have a hard time getting hubby to eat any sort of salad, and with his first bite he said WOW, this is really good! The only change I made was to use way less red onion than called for. I ended up using about 1/4 onion, since most red onions are huge. Thanks for the recipe NOOSH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States